Work health and safety

First Aiders on duty today

The on duty first aid officers can be found on the WHS Sharepoint Site.

Risk Assessment and Safe Work Procedure Templates

COVID-19 - working in the COVID-19 pandemic

Information related to the RSPhys response to COVID-19. Please read for more information or contact your Head of Department or School Executive.

The Research School of Physics has an extensive work, health and safety (WHS) program that aims to provide staff and students with the structures, systems and support to ensure the health, safety and welfare of all people within the school. The School has many and varied potential hazards. These potential hazards must be identified, risk assessed, and appropriate controls implemented. The goal is to eliminate harmful incidents or injury.

For life threatening emergencies you should first call:

(0) 000 - then call ANU Security on 612 52249

Chief Warden - Graeme Cornish - 612 53062 / 0404 857 302.

RSPhys WHS Manager - Rick Walsh - 612 50105

RSPhys Work, Health and Safety Committee chair - Prof Tim Senden. Quick link to RSPE WHS committee

HSR (Health and Safety Representative)

     Huma Latif - 612 55028

     Ilya Shadrivov - 612 58095

Incidents: If a hazardous incident or injury occurs, please contact your supervisor immediately or the appropriate person for assistance.

All Hazards/Incidents/Exposures MUST be reported as quickly as practical via Figtree


WHS contacts

First aid officers

Saskia Morris Physics Bld G.11e, (MakerSpace)
Rachael HanrickPhysics Bld G.11e, (MakerSpace)0404 289
Tom KitchenAccelerator Bld 204, 53954 / 043 9432
Shankar DuttCarver Bld J4-11,
Christian NotthoffCarver Bld J4-14, 048 1356
Patrick KluthCarver Bld J4-15, 50358 / 040 8663
Sonia PadrunCockcroft Bld C3.02B, (admin)
Liudmila MangosCockcroft Bld C3.02C, (admin)
Ilya ShadrivovCockcroft Bld C5.05,
Justin HeighwayNuclear Physics 1.14, 52085 / 043 5148
Dongyun JeungNuclear Physics 2.29,
Lauren BezzinaNuclear Physics 2.42, 52083 / 043 4928 321
Zuzana SlavkovskaNuclear Physics 2.49,
AJ MitchellNuclear Physics 2.53,
Julie ArnoldOliphant Link 4.30, (admin)50020 / 042 2815
James SullivanOliphant OL 4.19,
Michael BlacksellOliphant OL 4.25, 51570 / 045 0962
Belinda BarbourPhysics Bld 1.05, (admin)
Ben BuchlerPhysics Bld 1.12,
Sareh RajabiPhysics Bld 1.76,
Last Updated: 04/03/2021

Updated:  1 July 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster