Work health and safety

The Research School of Physics and Engineering has an extensive work, health and safety (WHS) program that aims to provide staff and students with the structures, systems and support to ensure the health, safety and welfare of all people within the school. The School has many and varied potential hazards. These potential hazards must be identified, risk assessed, and appropriate controls implemented. The goal is to eliminate harmful incidents or injury.

For life threatening emergencies you should first call:

(0) 000 - then call ANU Security on 612 52249


Chief Fire Warden - Graeme Cornish - 612 53062 / 0404 857 302.

First Aid Coordinator - Rick Walsh -  612 55280 / 0422 982 586. Quick link to RSPE First Aid Officers

School WHS Manager - Mick Craft - 612 50105 / 0436 696 348.


RSPE Work, Health and Safety Committee chair - Prof Tim Senden. Quick link to RSPE WHS committee

HSR (Health and Safety Representative) - Steve Marshall - 612 51572


Incidents: If a hazardous incident or injury occurs, please contact your supervisor immediately or the appropriate person for assistance.

All Hazards/Incidents/Exposures MUST be reported as quickly as practical via HORUS (Figtree system)

Contents

WHS contacts

Emergency contact information

ContactPhoneEmail
Ambulance0 000
Fire Brigade0 000
Police0 000 or 131444
ANU Security612 52249security@anu.edu.au
School Manager - (James Irwin)55185sm.rspe@anu.edu.au
School Facilities and Services Manager (Graeme Cornish)53062maintenance.rspe@anu.edu.au
Chief Warden (Graeme Cornish)53062maintenance.rspe@anu.edu.au
Deputy Chief Warden (Lee Philip)56390lee.philip@anu.edu.au
RSPE WHS Manager (Mick Craft)50105 / 0436696348ohs.rspe@anu.edu.au
RSPE WHS Officer (Keerthi Bettadapura)55280 ohs.rspe@anu.edu.au
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr. Stephen Tims)52086steve.tims@anu.edu.au
Radiation Safety Officer Backup (Prof. Keith Fifield)52095keith.fifield@anu.edu.au
Laser Safety Officer - Physics South (Prof. Andrei Rode)54637andrei.rode@anu.edu.au
Laser Safety Officer - Physics North (Dr. Nick Robins)50636nick.robins@anu.edu.au
ANU Chemical Hazards612 52193whs@anu.edu.au
ANU Hazardous Waste Emergencies612 52193whs@anu.edu.au
Last Updated: 22/05/2019

Updated:  25 January 2019/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPE/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster