Work health and safety

COVID-19 - Return to work

COVID-19 Information related to back to work phases being undertaken by the School. Please read for more information or contact your Head of Department or School Executive.

The Research School of Physics and Engineering has an extensive work, health and safety (WHS) program that aims to provide staff and students with the structures, systems and support to ensure the health, safety and welfare of all people within the school. The School has many and varied potential hazards. These potential hazards must be identified, risk assessed, and appropriate controls implemented. The goal is to eliminate harmful incidents or injury.

For life threatening emergencies you should first call:

(0) 000 - then call ANU Security on 612 52249

Chief Warden - Graeme Cornish - 612 53062 / 0404 857 302.

RSPhys WHS Manager - Craig Young - 612 57193

RSPE Work, Health and Safety Committee chair - Prof Tim Senden. Quick link to RSPE WHS committee

HSR (Health and Safety Representative)

     Huma Latif - 612 55028

     Ilya Shadrivov - 612 58095

Incidents: If a hazardous incident or injury occurs, please contact your supervisor immediately or the appropriate person for assistance.

All Hazards/Incidents/Exposures MUST be reported as quickly as practical via Figtree


WHS contacts

Emergency contact information

Ambulance0 000
Fire Brigade0 000
Police0 000 or 131444
ANU Security612
School Manager - (James Irwin)
School Facilities and Services Manager (Graeme Cornish)
Chief Warden (Graeme Cornish)
Deputy Chief Warden (Lee Philip)
WHS Manager (Craig Young)
WHS Contact (Sonia Padrun)51015 or
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr. Stephen Tims)
Coordinating Radiation Safety Officer (Tim Sawkins)
Radiation Safety Officer Backup (Prof. Keith Fifield)
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr James Sullivan)
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr Mika Kohonen)
Radio Frequency (Dr Horst Punzmann)
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr AJ Mitchell)
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr Michaela Froehlich)
Laser Safety Officer - Physics South (Prof. Andrei Rode)
ANU Chemical Hazards612
Laser Safety Officer - Physics North (Dr. Nick Robins)
ANU Hazardous Waste Emergencies612
Last Updated: 04/02/2020

Updated:  23 June 2020/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster