Work health and safety

First Aiders on duty today

The on duty first aid officers can be found on the WHS Sharepoint Site.

Risk Assessment and Safe Work Procedure Templates

COVID-19 - working in the COVID-19 pandemic

Information related to the RSPhys response to COVID-19. Please read for more information or contact your Head of Department or School Executive.

The Research School of Physics has an extensive work, health and safety (WHS) program that aims to provide staff and students with the structures, systems and support to ensure the health, safety and welfare of all people within the school. The School has many and varied potential hazards. These potential hazards must be identified, risk assessed, and appropriate controls implemented. The goal is to eliminate harmful incidents or injury.

For life threatening emergencies you should first call:

(0) 000 - then call ANU Security on 612 52249

Chief Warden - Graeme Cornish - 612 53062 / 0404 857 302.

RSPhys WHS Manager - Rick Walsh - 612 50105

RSPhys Work, Health and Safety Committee chair - Prof Tim Senden. Quick link to RSPE WHS committee

HSR (Health and Safety Representative)

     Huma Latif - 612 55028

     Ilya Shadrivov - 612 58095

Incidents: If a hazardous incident or injury occurs, please contact your supervisor immediately or the appropriate person for assistance.

All Hazards/Incidents/Exposures MUST be reported as quickly as practical via Figtree


WHS contacts

RSPhys WHS committee

Tim Senden (Chair)Director RSPEChemistry, All
Dimitrios TsifakisCentre for Plasma and
Luda MangosCockcroft 3.02COffice Environment
Julie ArnoldEMEOSLO, First Aid,
Mykhaylo LysevychEME, Leonard Huxley 4
Patrick LangFacilities, Cockcroft 4
Lee PhilipFacilities,
Graeme CornishFacilities,
Patrick RomeroFinance officerPurchasing,
Christian NotthoffFirst Aid,
Huma LatifLaser physics, John Carver, 3. 16FChemicals,
Ilya ShadrivovNonlinear Physics Centre, Cockcroft 5 05Non-ionising,
Steve TimsNuclear
Daniel TempraNuclear Physics 1
Belinda BarbourQSTFirst Aid,
Samuel LeggeQSTLaser Safety
Ludovic RappQSTLaser Safety
Graeme CornishSchool FacilitiesChief Emergency warden, Buildings, All
James IrwinSchool
Zoe CheongStudent
Mahdi DavoodianidalikStudent
Ben Swinton-BlandStudent
Disha KapasiStudent
Eliza Melik-GaykazyanStudent
Shridhar ManjunathStudent
ANU WHS RepresentitiveWEGBy
Sonia PadrunWHS administrator (C3.02B)OSLO, First Aid,
Rick WalshWHS Manager (C3.02B)RSPE WHS Manager - All
Alex ShanahanWorkshop, Cockcroft 3 13Plant /
Last Updated: 07/06/2022

Updated:  1 July 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster