Work health and safety

The Research School of Physics has an extensive work, health and safety (WHS) program that aims to provide staff and students with the structures, systems and support to ensure the health, safety and welfare of all people within the school. The School has many and varied potential hazards. These potential hazards must be identified, risk assessed, and appropriate controls implemented. The goal is to eliminate harmful incidents or injury.

For life threatening emergencies you should first call:

(0) 000 - then call ANU Security on 612 52249

Chief Warden - Graeme Cornish - 612 53062 / 0404 857 302.

RSPhys WHS Manager - Rick Walsh - 612 50105

RSPhys Work, Health and Safety Committee chair - Prof Tim Senden. Quick link to RSPhys WHS committee

HSR (Health and Safety Representative)

     Ilya Shadrivov - 612 58095

Incidents: If a hazardous incident or injury occurs, please contact your supervisor immediately or the appropriate person for assistance.

All Hazards/Incidents/Exposures MUST be reported as quickly as practical via Figtree


Risk Assessment and Safe Work Procedure Templates

Please complete the various risk assessment templates and forward to when approved and signed. Contact our WHS team for assistance.

WHS contacts

Emergency contact information

Ambulance0 000
Fire Brigade0 000
Police0 000 or 131444
ANU Security6125
School Manager - (James Irwin)6125
School Facilities and Services Manager (Graeme Cornish)6125
Chief Warden (Graeme Cornish)6125
Deputy Chief Warden (Rick Walsh)6125
WHS Manager (Rick Walsh)6125
Coordinating Radiation Safety Officer (vacant position)
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr Stephen Tims)6125
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr James Sullivan)6125
Radiation Safety Officer (Prof. Hoe Tan)6125
Radiation Safety Officer - Physics North (Dr Mika Kohonen)6125
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr AJ Mitchell)6125
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr Stefan Pavetich)6125
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr Levi Beeching)6125
Radiation Safety Officer (Dr Wilfred Fullagar)6125
Laser Safety Officer - Physics South (Dr Ludovic Rapp)6125
Laser Safety Officer - Physics South (Prof. Andrew Truscott)6125
Laser Safety Officer - Physics North (Dr Samuel Legge)
Radio Frequency (Dr Horst Punzmann)6125
ANU Chemical Hazards6125
ANU Hazardous Waste Emergencies6125
Last Updated: 27/06/2023