Equity and diversity

The School Of Physics takes equity and diversity issues seriously. We aim to create a culture where our staff and students can work and study in an inclusive environment regardless of their gender, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, marital status, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, age or religion.

Physics at ANU Equity and Diversity Committee

The 2021 members:

  • James Sullivan (Chair)
  • Jodie Bradby
  • Vanessa Robins
  • Mary Gray
  • Patrick Kluth
  • Elena Ostrovskaya
  • Joe Hope
  • A.J. Mitchell
  • Marika Niihori
  • Saskia Morris
  • Elizaveta Melik-Gaykazyan
  • Graeme Cornish
  • Uyen Nguyen
  • John Close
  • Julie Tournet
  • Khosro Zangeneh Kamali
  • Timothy Senden (Physics at ANU Director)

The committee can be reached via equity@physics.anu.edu.au

Equity-related school guidelines

Physics at ANU private room

The school has a private room for breastfeeding, families, prayer or when a quiet, private space is required. Located on the ground floor of Building 60, Oliphant Private Room (307).

Bookings are required and can be made via the room booking system.

Physics at ANU gender balance

This data is harvested from the ANU HR and student administration systems and is presented for reporting and tracking of gender equity. We acknowledge and respect the fact that gender is not binary - as physicists we really understand the concept of a spectrum. We also acknowledge that gender identity may be fluid and not be easily captured in this data.

Other ANU equity and diversity links


RSPE supports the ANU ALLY network by promoting the training of ALLYs. The ANU Ally Network is a visible network of staff and students across the University who support the University’s commitment to providing an inclusive and respectful university environment for people who identify as being lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ*).

Altin, Paul profile

Bezzina, Lauren profile

Bradby, Jodie profile

Cornish, Graeme profile

Craig, Vincent profile

Hope, Joseph profile

Kluth, Patrick profile

McRae, Ellen profile

Melik-Gaykazyan, Eliza profile

Ostrovskaya, Elena profile

Padrun, Sonia profile

Rickman, Petra profile

Senden, Timothy profile

Sullivan, James profile

Zangeneh Kamali, Khosro profile

Updated:  8 February 2023/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster