The 2015 Stjepan Marcelja Fellowships

Friday 12 June 2015

The Department of of Applied Mathematics is delighted to announce the first recipients of the 2015 Marcelja Fellowships. The Marcelja Fellowship, named in honour of Stjepan Marcelja, provides financial support for visitors to the Department to conduct fundamental science research.

From a field of very strong applications the following candidates have been awarded the Marcelja Fellowships for 2015:

  • Professor Jean-Marc di Meglio, University Paris-Diderot (France) June-July 2015
    From earthworms to molecular manipulation: eclectic topics in physics and chemistry
    Host: Prof. Tim Senden
  • Dr Martin Cramer Pederson, University of Copenhagen (Denmark) (joint with the Carlsberg Foundation) June-December 2015,
    Quasi-crystalline structures in soft/condensed matter systems
    Host: Prof. Stephen Hyde
  • Dr Wu Bo, South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, September 2015
    Surface and osmotic forces in high-molecular weight solutions
    Host: Vince Craig
  • Dr Yasuaki Hiraoka, AIMR Tohoku University (Japan), January 2016
    Relating persistent homology and mechanics in granular assemblies
    Host: Vanessa Robins and Mohammad Saadatfar

Related news stories

Gravitational wave guru first Aussie to win top global science prize

One of the world’s leading physicists who is helping unlock the Universe’s most complex mysteries is the first Australian to win the prestigious Blaise Pascal Medal in recognition of her incredible research and leadership in science. Distinguished Professor Susan Scott, a theoretical physicist...

Ion modeller has an eye on the prize

Kasimir Gregory has been named as a Finalist in the 7News Young Achiever Awards NSW & ACT – Western Sydney University Academic Achievement Award. Kasimir is a post-doctoral fellow in the Materials Physics Department, working on the behaviour of salts in solutions. “There are millions...

Academy of Science medals for Department of Material Physics

Two members of the Materials Physics Department have won prestigious medals in the 2022 Australian Academy of Science Honorific Awards. Director of the Research School of Physics, Professor Tim Senden has been awarded the Ian Wark Medal and Lecture, and Professor Dick Henley has won the Haddon Forrester...

Gurus of nuclear data gather at ANU

Prominent nuclear scientists from across the globe converged on ANU last week for the biennial meeting of the International Network of Nuclear Structure and Decay Data Evaluators. This is the first time the meeting has been held in the southern hemisphere, and participants came from as far afield as Bucharest...