Athena Swan Focus Groups

Published in the Research School of Physics Event Horizon
Vol44 Issue6 11–15 February 2019

Dear Colleagues,

As many of you would be aware, ANU has committed to improving diversity and gender equity across the University.  The SAGE Athena SWAN project aligns with the University’s 2017 – 2021 Strategic Plan which states that ANU is committed to “providing opportunities and an inclusive and welcoming environment to those of all background and identities”.  

As part of actioning this strategic goal, the University has set itself a bold target of achieving a SAGE Athena SWAN Bronze Award this year. An Athena SWAN Bronze Institution Award recognises an institution’s commitment to advancing the careers of women, trans and gender diverse individuals in STEMM disciplines in Higher Education and Research. Achieving a Bronze Institution Award requires an institution to demonstrate a solid foundation for improving gender equity in STEMM.

As a pivotal part of our commitment to improving gender equity and finalising our SAGE Athena SWAN application, we are keen to call on the ANU community to participate in a series of focus groups targeting specific areas as part of the ANU Gender Equity action plan.  The four initial focus groups will cover:

  • Promotions             Monday 11 Feb, 10-11.30am
  • Flexible work            Tuesday 12 Feb, 9.30-11am
  • ANU policies            Thursday 14 Feb, 9.30-11am
  • The academic career pipelineThursday 14 Feb, 3-4.30pm

These are important issues for all our staff. Our initiatives recognise that, despite widespread acceptance of equality, ANU is still a more difficult environment for career development of women than it is for men.

I welcome all staff members to register their interest to participate in the focus groups via the Eventbrite link:


I thank you for your support in making the University an inclusive, open and respectful workplace. 


Best wishes,


Professor Mike Calford


Chancelry Building 10 

The Australian National University

Acton ACT 2601


T: +61 2 6125 8679




The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider: 00120C | ABN: 52 234 063 906


Updated:  29 September 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster