Congratulations - ARC Success

Published in the Research School of Physics Event Horizon
Vol42 Issue43 7–11 November 2016

November 2016 ARC Major Grants Announcement

The 2016 ARC Major Grants were announced on Tuesday 1 November.  Congratulations to all successful RSPE recipients. 


  • Dr Ilya Shadrivov (NLPC) "Functional metasurfaces and metadevices"


  • Prof Andrei Rode (LP) & Emeritus Prof Jim Williams (EME) "Ultrafast microexplosion: A tool for creation new material phases"
  • Prof Andrew Stuchbery & Dr Tibor Kibedi (NP) "Electric Monopoles and Magnetic Moments in Nuclear Spectroscopy"
  • Dr Andrey Miroshnichenko & Dr Mohsen Rahmani (NLPC) "Nonlinear near-field nanophotonics"
  • Prof Daniel Shaddock & Prof David McClelland (DQS) "Quantum enhancement of gravitational wave astronomy"
  • Prof David Hinde & Dr Elizabeth Williams (NP) "Creating new superheavy elements"
  • Dr Greg Lane (NP) "Detector Development for the Stawell Underground Physics Laboratory"
  • Prof Hark Hoe Tan & Dr Sudha Mokkapati (EME) "Van der Waals Epitaxy for Advanced Optoelectronics"
  • Prof Mahananda Dasgupta & Dr Edward Simpson (NP) "Cluster Dynamics in Nuclear Fusion"
  • Dr Marcus Doherty & A/Prof Matthew Sellars (LPC) "Electric field imaging of single charges and molecules via spins in diamond"
  • Prof Murray Batchelor (TP) "Mathematical structure of the quantum Rabi model"
  • Emeritus Prof Neil Manson (LPC) "Towards a quantum bus for large scale diamond quantum computers"
  • Emeritus Prof Robert Dewar & A/Prof Matthew Hole (CPF) "Multi-Region Relaxation Dynamics in Fusion and Stellar Plasmas"


  • Dr Daniel Cocks (PRL) "How does antimatter and matter solvate in liquids?"
  • Dr Rose Ahlefeldt (LPC) "Development of new materials for high data storage capacity quantum devices"
  • Dr Marcus Doherty (LPC) "First-principles innovation of diamond quantum technologies"
  • Dr Mohsen Rahmani (NLPC) "Opto-acoustic Metasurfaces"


  • Prof David McClelland (DQS) "Australian Partnership in Advanced LIGO+" 
  • Prof Chennupati Jagadish (EME) - Externally lead
  • Prof Chennupati Jagadish (EME) "UltraTEM: To resolve the structure of matter in space, energy and time" - Externally lead
  • Dr Ilya Shadrivov (NLPC) "High bandwidth, high speed, terahertz optical sampling and analysis system" - Externally lead
  • Dr Ilya Shadrivov (NLPC) "A multiple ion beam facility for microscopy and nanofabrication" - Externally lead
  • Prof Andrew Stuchbery (NP) "Full scale detector system for the first Australian Dark Matter experiment" - Externally lead
  • Prof Dragomir Neshev (NLPC) "Facility for exploring light-matter interactions in space, time and energy"
  • A/Prof Jodie Bradby (EME) - Externally lead
  • A/Prof Jodie Bradby (EM) - Externally lead

Updated:  30 September 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster