Published in the Research School of Physics Event Horizon
Vol46 Issue43 1–5 November 2021

1. ANSTO 2022-1 Proposal Round – applications now open
(applications close 15 February 2022 for ACNS and NDF)
(applications close 28 February 2022 for other ANSTO Lucas Heights Facilities)

Call for Proposals at ANSTO’s Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering (ACNS) and National Deuteration Facility (NDF) – Round 2022-1

The ACNS & NDF 2022-1 proposal round deadline has been extended to 15 February 2022 (for instrument time from July 2022) due to the significant experimental backlog that has been created as result of the COVID lockdown in Sydney.

Submission Deadline: 15 February 2022, for instrument time between July and December 2022

Proposals must be submitted on-line at:

Call for proposals at other ANSTO Lucas Heights facilities - Round 2022-1

Submission Deadline:  28 February 2022
Proposals must be submitted on-line at:
The 2022-1 round for access to the following facilities and capabilities at ANSTO closes on 28 February 2022:

  • Biosciences- access awarded to this facility is valid for 12 months
  • Centre for Accelerator Science - access awarded to this facility is valid for 12 months
  • Isotope Tracing in Natural Systems- access awarded to this facility is valid for 6 months
  • Nuclear Stewardship- access awarded to this facility is valid for 6 months
  • Vivarium – access awarded to this capability is valid for 12 months

2. International Conference on Food Analysis (ICFA) 2021 – 16-18 November 2021

(Early Bird registration available before 30 October 2021)

The organising committee for the International Conference on Food Analysis (ICFA) is delighted to announce that the 3rd ICFA will take place online from the 16th to 18th of November 2021.
The International Conference on Food Analysis (ICFA) was conceived in 2015 by a group of passionate volunteers and was first held in Melbourne in 2016. The conference is a combination of several other long running food related conferences and workshops including:

  • 15th Government Food Analysts’ Conference (GFAC)
  • 8th Analytical Conference of the Asia-Pacific Food Analysis Network (APFAN) 
  • 27th Conference of Residue Chemists (CRC)
  • 4th Australian Food Metrology Symposium (AFMS)

Alongside our established topics, this years’ theme ‘Bush Foods and Beyond’ is generating conversation about the native foods in our home countries and the intricacies involved with their analysis and regulation.  Over three days, we will hear from experts bringing us the latest technical developments.

Early Bird registrations are currently available before 30th October. For more information, please visit the conference website.

3. ANSTO User Meeting 2021 – 24-26 November 2021

(Registration closes 17 November 2021)

ANSTO is hosting the 2021 Users Meeting with a hybrid virtual and drop-in event from 24-26 November

A schedule of online webinars allows scientists who have accessed any of ANSTO’s research infrastructure, and includes the beamlines of the Australian Synchrotron, neutron scattering instruments at the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, instruments the Centre for Accelerator Science and deuterated products from the National Deuteration Facility, to showcase their work during the last year.

The Meeting will include a number at satellite venues with up to four hubs, where delegates can come together to watch sessions and interact. Discussions are underway with local universities regarding these venues.

The announcement of excellence in neutron and synchrotron research awards takes place during the meeting.

AINSE is offering up to 100 student registrations for students from AINSE Member Universities to attend this event with preference given to students that are presenting either an oral or poster. 

For more information, and to register, please visit the ANSTO website.


4. ANSTO Small Angle Scattering Workshop 2021 (Honours and PhD Students) – 1-3 December 2021
(Practical registration closes 7 November 2021 / Webinar registration closes 28 November 2021)

Jointly hosted by the SAXS/WAXS and BioSAXS groups at the Australian Synchrotron and the SANS group at the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering. 

Register Here

5. Mercury Australia Symposium 2021 – 14-15 December 2021

(Abstract submission closes 1 November 2021 / Registration opens 19 November 2021)

ANSTO will host the Mercury Australia Symposium 2021 via Zoom on the afternoon of Tuesday 14th and the morning of Wednesday 15th December 2021.

We are excited to announce guest speakers including Jeroen Sonke (Research Director of CNRS) and Chuxian Li from Geosciences Environment Toulouse and Sarah Douglass (Assistant Director, Chemicals Policy and International Section) from the Chemicals Management Branch, Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.

We will be offering prizes for the best student and ECR (up to 5 years post conferral of most recent degree) presentations, proudly supported by AINSE ($400) and Metrohm Australia ($500) respectively.  Please encourage students and ECRs in your research groups to submit an abstract to present.

To submit an abstract, you will be required to establish a profile account via the online submission process.  If you have any difficulties please email

Abstract submissions close 1st November 2021. For further information, please visit the ANSTO website.


6. ANSTO are in the process of replacing their Bruker Nanostar Small-Angle X-ray Scattering instrument in early 2022.

An opportunity is available for an interested research group with relevant expertise and laboratory space to receive a donation of the existing SAXS instrument from ANSTO. ANSTO can provide support with packing and preparing the instrument, and technical support for reassembly of the instrument.

In the case where several groups are interested in the instrument, ACNS will enter into discussions with each group to investigate all relevant issues which would include on-going technical support from the group and/or from Bruker, proposed access models for students and early-career scientists, and the proposed research programs.

For enquiries or further information, please contact Dr. Katy Wood at

Updated:  14 August 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster