The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 35 | 28 September–2 October 2015


ECI Seminar - Managing the growing energy cost of the Internet

Professor Rod Tucker
Tuesday 29 September 2015
Seminar Room, RSPE (#60), Mills Road, ANU, Acton ACT 2601

» read more


Congratulations - MRSI Silver Jubilee International Medal

Professor Chennupati Jagadish has been informed by the Materials Research Society of India (MRSI) of his selection to receive the prestigious ‘MRSI Silver Jubilee International Medal” for the year 2016. The award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting of MRSI scheduled to be held at Jorhat, Assam, during 18 - 20 February 2016.  Professor Jagadish has also been requested to deliver the Honour Lecture on this occasion. Please join us in congratulating Professor Jagadish on another great achievement.


Congratulations to the winners of the John Carver Seminar Series 2015

The John Carver Seminar Series 2015 was held on Wednesday, 23 September 2015, with 13 RSPE PhD students presenting talks on their research.

The judges had a tough job selecting the winners among excellent presentations.

  • The John Carver Prize was awarded to Katie Chong from Nonlinear Physics Centre
  • The Director's Prize was awarded to Silvie Ngo from the Department of Quantum Science
  • The Dean's Prize was awarded to Giovanni Guccione from the Department of Quantum Science
  • The People's Choice prize was shared between Ian Carter from the Department of Nuclear Physics and Samuel Francis from the Department of Quantum Science

Congratulations to these students and well done to all the students who participated in the Seminar Series for presenting excellent talks!


Funding Opportunities

ARC Linkage Projects 
Applications for ARC Linkage Projects may open in mid-September and close in mid-November. If you are interested in applying (both ANU-led and externally-led bids) please notify

ANU – COST Travel Grant Scheme
ANU has exclusively partnered with the Australian Academy of Science to deliver support of up to $7,000 for ANU researchers to participate in EU COST Actions. Participation in COST can lead to engagement in major projects and initiatives such as Horizon 2020 and the European Research Council. Further information is available here (ANU login).


2016 ANU Alumni Awards now open

Nomination forms, eligibility and criteria details available here

RSPE nominations contact: Kavitha Robinson

» read more




2015 Directors Awards

Nominations are now open.

The Director’s Awards recognise outstanding service to our School by a team and/or individual staff member. All members of the RSPE community are eligible, as are our colleagues from the local College administration group based in The Huxley Building. The Awards will be presented at this years RSPE Founders Day - Friday 16 October 2015.

Further information is available here or by contacting Tania Maxwell, EA to the Director 

Closing date for nominations is Friday 2 October 2015.

» read more


Abstract submission extended - 28 September 2015

2016 International Conference on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICONN 2016) will be held in Canberra during 7-11 February 2016.

» read more



Electronic Materials Engineering (EME)
Mr Alexander Berg visiting PhD student from Lund University, Sweden.  Alexander will be working with Philippe Caroff for the next 3 months in the area of Nanowire Growth
Dr Yanxu (Alex) Zhu to EME. Alex completed his PhD at the Beijing University of Technology and has joined us for a year with Prof Jagadish and will work in the area of MOCVD Growth of III-V Nanowires. 

Non Linear Physics Centre (NLPC)
Dr Arkadi Chipouline, visitor from Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany.  Arkadi will be visiting NLPC for a week.


Staff movements

Atomic and Molecular Physics Laboratories
A/Prof Maarten Vos will be absent 29 September - 2 October 2015.  Prof Ken Baldwin will be acting HoD during this period.

HDR Student Administration
Ms Karen Nulty 
will be absent 29 September - 2 October 2015.  The office will open reduced hours 9.30am-2.30pm Monday to Thursday.   Ms Luda Mangos will be available during these times.

Laser Physics
A/Prof Matthew Sellars is travelling to New Zealand to attend the workshop on coherent light-matter interaction from 26 September - 2 October 2015.  A/Prof Stephen Madden will be acting HoD during this period.

Sonia Padrun will be on leave 26 August - 6 October 2015.  For assistance during this period please contact Ms Uyen Nguyen (DA PRL, CPF & AMPL) Ext 52480/52403 or Ms Julie Arnold (DA EME) Ext 50020



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.