The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 46 no 8 | 1–5 March 2021


Director's Message

Dear Colleagues,

I would like to start the week by thanking everyone involved in getting the teaching term underway. With increased student numbers around campus and the complexities of combining remote and in-person teaching I appreciate all that is being accomplished in one of our busiest semesters ever.  

The new Department memberships are starting to take form I would like to offer a chance to meet with the new groups to discuss any requirements or questions they might have. I will host a drop-in, free-form meeting on Thursday starting at 1100. The schedule will be 1100-1130 Accelerator Science; 1130-1200 Computational & Theoretical Physics; 1200-1230 Device & Materials Engineering; 1230-1300 Materials Physics & Characterisation; and 1300-1330 Photonic & Quantum Systems.  Anyone should feel free to attend any of the sessions. Some FAQs can be found here.

As it is a very busy time, I have extended the Expression of Interest period for the new Head of Departments until Monday 8th March, see updated schedule.  

Last week Nuclear Physics had the great pleasure of hosting the former and long standing ACT Labor Senator the Honourable Kate Lundy for a tour of their facilities. Seen above, left to right, Hon. Kate Lundy, Professors Nanda Dasgupta, David Hinde and Andrew Stuchbery, and in the front PhD Candidate, Lauren Bezzina.

Hope the week goes smoothly,


PhB Mentors Needed

This year we have an unprecedented 25+ first-year Physics students in the PhB program, some of the smartest high-school graduates from across the country. We take an advantage of the country closed boarder and keep those who usually would go to study overseas.

Each student is to be assigned an academic mentor for their time at ANU, and we would like to make a call for people willing to take on this role. This typically involves 1-2 meetings per semester to provide advice regarding their degree.

All students should do research projects and also enter the Honours Program, so this is an excellent opportunity to expand your research groups with extra hands. Please contact Prof Yuri Kivshar ( to express your interest. For further details about the program 'read more' below.

Yuri Kivshar and James Sullivan
PhB Physics discipline coordinators

» read more


Professor Susan Scott delivered the Bronze Bragg Public Lecture at The University of Adelaide and presented Bronze Bragg Medals to the two top performing Year 12 physics students in South Australia for 2020 and certificates to a number of other highly commended students. It was wonderful to present a lecture to a live audience once again and to see such an impressive cohort of physics students!


CSIRO and ANU have established a joint CSIRO/ANU Digital Agriculture PhD scholarship program to provide $15,000 top-up scholarships for PhD students undertaking studies where their research focus is on information science relevant to the agricultural domain.

» read more


ANU 2025 Plan

Have your say. Attend forums, submit written feedback, participate in focus groups or complete the survey. More information can be found on the ANU 2025 website.

» read more




Oliphant Tea Room

The Oliphant tea room is open with tea bags & black coffee only.

Please remember to bring your own cup & spoon.


Building and Room Security Access

Please note that the school now has a general access restriction of 8am to 6pm, Monday to Friday.  

Only those people that have been approved by the WHS team (updated risk assessment, training and safe work procedures in place) will be granted additional access (24/7).

If you need to complete a new after-hours risk assessment, please see the new top section here:




Departmental seminars

Mr Perry Forsyth - 3 March
Simulation and Isolation Design for the TorPeDO Gravitational Sensor
» read more

Mr Damon Binder - 3 March
The cubic fixed point at large N
» read more


Know your administrator...

Julie Arnold - EME & NLPC

Petra Rickman - NP/HIAF & ARC CDM

Belinda Barbour - DQS

Nikki Azzopardi - AM, CPF, LPC & TP


NHMRC schemes opening in 2021 (Q1)

The College of Science Research Office (CRO) is now inviting notices of intent (NoI) to submit applications for the following schemes opening in 2021.


AINSE 2021 Postgraduate Research Awards (PGRA) – applications now open (applications close 15 April 2021)

» read more


From Last Week

Maker in Residence Program


Physics @ ANU



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.