The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 45 no 50 | 14–18 December 2020


Director's Message

Dear Colleagues,

I hope you had a relaxing weekend as we move into the last full week of a very full year.

My thanks and gratitude to Sue Wigley for preparing the Event Horizon over the years. Today, under Sue’s tutelage, Nikki Azzopardi, takes the reins.

It is a great pleasure to congratulate all the research students who finished this year. The Honour Role is listed below and you will see many familiar names from Dept seminars, awards, the Carver series, student reps at HoDs, and more. All the best for 2021, and please stay in touch.

On Wednesday we will farewell a large number of our colleagues (see right). It will be a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge their long and significant contributions, which in combination span several centuries!

My personal thanks to all those involved in the recent annual ARPANSA inspection, WEG audit and asset survey. Your efforts were over and above at a very busy time. I can report that both ARPANSA inspection and WEG audit went very well, highlighting the culture of safety we have in Physics. My gratitude to Sonia Padrun and Craig Young for their guidance through the audits, and to Uyen Nguyen for her coordination of the asset survey.

We should see the Implementation plan from the College of Science this week. Many thanks for all the feedback received.

Have a good week,


RSPhys Research and Honours Graduating Students for 2020

Higher Degree Research  
Tamara Babij
Mahyar Bokaeeyan
Alexander Bray
Dipankar Chugh
Daniel Comber-Todd
Mitchell de Vries
Jiahao Dong
Charlotte Duda
Benjamin Frost
Matthew Gerathy
Hijaz Hasnan
Gleb Kotousov
Jinyong Ma
Sahar Masoudian
Pablo Mota Santiago
Manju Perumbil
Dominic Rafferty
Shasidran Raj
Vidur Raj
Chandrima Sengupta
Lachlan Smillie
Michael Smith
David Stevens
Peter Vouzas
Min Jet Yap

Thomas Bartlett
Matthew Blacker
Timothy Hirsch
Navneet Krishnan
Owen Lennon
Tianshi Lu
Caspian Nicholls
James Pope
Callum Sambridge
Adrian Schmidt
Benjamin Slimming



Kirill Koshelev (PhD student, NLPC) for being awarded the Postgraduate Student Prize of The Australian and New Zealand Optical Society (ANZOS).

» read more


Yuri Kivshar (NLPC) and his collaborators from Harbin Institute of Technology (China), whose work on ultrafast control of microlasers was highlighted in the special “Optics in 2020” issue of Optics & Photonics News as one of the exciting achievements in the field that has emerged over the past year. 

» read more


Physics WHS Team Craig & Sonia for their Commendation for Team Service Contribution, in the College of Science awards for service 2020.


Physics General Admin Team for their Commendation for Team Service Contribution, in the College of Science awards for service 2020.


Hidden Data Could Pose a Threat to Quantum Encryption

Quantum encryption offers unbreakable codes, but don’t get your encoding equipment from Dr Michael Hall. He’s discovered exactly how to hide code-breaking information in a quantum-encryption system. And he can hide it even more effectively if time flows backwards.

» read more


ARC DP22 Round

The timeline for this round of applications is as follows:

  • 5 January - complete the attached form, discuss with you supervisor, send to
  • 27 January – first complete draft to Research Office and RMS data entered
  • 27 January – 1 February – parallel RSPhys discipline peer review and CoS “College of Experts” Peer review, with immediate feedback
  • 10 February – Request Not to Assess
  • 17 February – College Hard deadline – this will be enforced this year, grants failing to make this deadline will be not be submitted
  • 24 February – ARC Deadline





16 Dec @ 10:30
Byo morning tea to farewell all the staff retiring from RSPhys in 2020.
There will be a presentation by Tim.
Please see your local areas or reception for cards and collection envelopes.


University Shut Down

The University shutdown period is 24th December 2020 - 3rd January 2021 (inclusive).


2021 Wall Planners

Due to the current financial constraints the University is operating under, there will be no wall planners for 2021.


EOY Finance Processing Cut-offs

Raising an invoice: Monday 14 Dec, 5pm
Process payment: Monday 14 Dec, 5pm (last pay run: 22 Dec)
Journal request: Friday 18 Dec, 5pm
Purchase request (to purchasing team): Monday 21 Dec, 5pm
Purchase card: Clear and approved by 24 Dec, 5pm

» read more




Departmental seminars

Mr Sebastian Lavin-Varela - 14 December
Structural laser beams for advanced optical manipulation of airborne particles
» read more

Mr Ben Coombes - 17 December
The origins and nature of weak collectivity in nuclei
» read more


Eligible students from AINSE Member institutions who are enrolled in an Honours or Honours-equivalent program can now apply for the 2021 AINSE Honours Scholarship. ANSTO are also currently accepting applications for the 2021 United Uranium Scholarship. 

» read more


From Last Week

Cardax Changes - Security Improvements Across Physics

Experiencing the Impossible - Virtual Realities for Education


Physics @ ANU



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.