The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 43 no 78 | 16–20 July 2018


Acting Director's Message

Dear Colleagues,

I hope you enjoyed a great weekend.

On behalf of the director, I would like to congratulate the following students who graduated last week and received their PhDs:

Timothy Burgess, Shuai Li, HaoFeng Lu, Sherman Wong (EME)

Sara Marzban (LPC)           

Pieter Botha, Namsoon Eom, Virginia Mazzini (AM)

Song Cheng (TP)

We wish them all the best with their future endeavours.

A reminder for students - the RSPE 3MT will to be held on Wednesday 25 July. Please ensure you register by Wednesday 18 July 2018 to HDR Administration.

This week’s picture shows now Drs Pieter Botha, Shuai Li, Sara Marzban, and Tim Burgess (2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th from left to right) with their smiling supervisors Adrian Sheppard, Matt Sellars and Jennifer Wong-Leung (1st, 4th, and 7th). This was taken during the school’s graduation morning tea last Wednesday. Great to meet and talk to the very happy students and their family members! Many thanks to Karen for organising the lovely event.

Have a good week,



The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) international research student competition is on again for 2018, registration ends 18 July 2018.

» read more


All ANU staff, students and affiliates need to change their passwords by 31 July 2018. To enhance protection of the University and in line with best practice industry standards, we are asking all ANU staff, students and members of our community with a log-in to our systems to reset their password. 

» read more


Do you use the number 3 or number 81 buses to get to uni? The ACT government is proposing to scrap the number 3 route through ANU campus and the number 81 route along Clunies Ross Street from 2019. The free city loop bus service will also be discontinued.

» read more


We would like to announce a new Physics course for second semester 2018 – PHYS2205/6205 Physics for Future Leaders – first lecture – 3pm on Monday 23rd July.

» read more


The Westpac Foundation is now accepting applications for 2019 Westpac Research Fellowships. This unique fellowship supports outstanding early career researchers whose ground-breaking work has the potential to make a difference in one of the Foundation's focus areas.

» read more


What is Parental Leave? Parental Leave is an entitlement available to University employees who are having a baby, or are adopting or fostering a child (up to five years of age).  

» read more


The Australian Academy of Science is calling for applications for the inaugural Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Scientist Travelling Research Award

» read more


The Chennupati and Vidya Jagadish Endowment scholarships sponsor students currently pursuing their undergraduate or Masters degree to come to Canberra and study in RSPE. The photo above is from a recent lunch with the students (clockwise from left): Mr Himanshu Chaudhary, Prof Tim Senden, Ms Nalin Venkar Sameera, Dr Vini Gautam, Mr Bejoys Jacob, Mr Abhilash Jha, Mr Yash Shukla, Mr Biplab Mahato.


ANU Ally Network is a network of staff and students across the University who support the University’s commitment to providing an inclusive and respectful university environment for LGBTIQ people. The Network is currently calling for postgraduate student, academic staff and professional staff co-convenors to organise events, convene meetings and keep the network going. You do not need to be LGBTIQ identified. Please consider nominating to support the continuation of this important network and send your nomination and a short paragraph on why you would like to be a convenor to by close of business on Friday 27th July.




School Seminar

19 July 2018 3:00-4:00
Mr Alex Bennet
Lab to Launch

» read more


Departmental Seminars

18 July 2018
Mr Ben Laws
Isomerisation Puzzles viewed with High Resolution Photoelectron Imaging
» read more

19 July 2018
Mr Daniel Comber-Todd
Polariton Condensation in Non-Hermitian Potentials
» read more

20 July 2018
Dr Sasitharan Balasubramaniam
Wireless Optogenetic Nanonetworks for Brain Stimulation
» read more

24 July 2018
Professor Mukunda Das
Bose, Bosons and Boson Condensation
» read more

30 July 2018
Mr Alexander Bray
Does the attoclock provide evidence of a tunnelling time?
» read more


Do you know who 
your administrator is?

Ext: 52847

Ext: 52480

Ext: 54244

Ext: 50020

Ext: 52495

Ext: 50000

Ext: 53423

Ext: 52083

Ext: 52480

Ext: 52480


Distinguished Lecture

AIP Women in Physics Lecture - Dr Ceri Brenner
Monday 13th August 2018, 2:00-3:00
Finkle Lecture Theatre, JCSMR, Bldg # 131

» read more


ANU Physics Market Day

Tuesday 14th August 2018
Research School of Physics and Engineering, Bldg. 60

» read more


RSPE Orientation

Every Monday at 10:00am all new starters are invited to meet at reception to have a short tour of the School’s central areas and receive a welcome pack.

Bookings are not required.


Keep Informed

ANU Events

(CHM/CoS) Deans' Bulletin

JCS Strategic Priorities Plan



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.