The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 43 no 26 | 17–21 July 2017


Director's Message

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the Director, I would like to congratulate our PhD and MPhil Graduates.  This week’s graduation ceremony marked the end of an important stage in their career, and the beginning of a new phase in their lives (i.e. Paid employment!).  We wish them every success for the future.  Thanks to Joe Hope and Lan Fu for congratulating the students at the morning tea on Wednesday, and to Karen Nulty for organizing this great local event.

Congratulations are also extended to this year’s recipients of the Vidya and Chennupati Jagadish Endowment Awards, who are featured in this week’s feature photograph.

Tim will be back next week.

Have a great weekend.
Rob Elliman


Congratulations to our graduating PhD and MPhil students

Raden Farzand Abdullatif (Centre for Plasma and Fluids)

George William Bowden (Centre for Plasma and Fluids)

Sebastian Cox (Centre for Plasma and Fluids)

Kaitlin Cook (Dept of Nuclear Physics)

Ian Carter (Dept of Nuclear Physics)

Kyle Hardman    (Dept of Quantum Science)

Giovanni Guccione (Dept of Quantum Science)

Kun Peng (Dept of Electronic Materials Engineering)

Sanjoy Nandi (Dept of Electronic Materials Engineering)

Matt Thompson (Plasma Research Laboratory)

Ting Wang (Laser Physics Centre)

Heyang Li (Dept of Applied Mathematics)


From the RSPE Equity and Access Committee

#LearnActImpact: 14 NEW courses designed to help you change the world

  • Learn about the issues you care about.
  • Use the skills you build to take action.
  • Make an impact in your community. 

Three simple, powerful steps we can all take to create a better world.

» read more


From the RSPE Equity and Access Committee

Nearly Is Not Enough!
by Meesha Rosa

After nearly 20 years of trying to increase the representation of women and minorities on boards, they remain largely untapped, underutilized, and almost invisible in corporate boardrooms.

» read more


#ANU3MT launch

Meet the minds behind the three minutes.

#ANU3MT launch
Tuesday 18 July, 5.30pm
ANU Pop-Up Village main stage

Let's celebrate ANU winning the Asia-Pacific final in 2016 and cheers our researchers for a strong 2017.
Drinks and snacks thanks to PARSA and Research Skills and Training

Follow this link to the Eventbrite page to register your attendance.


Call for Expression of Interest for RSPE Summer Research Scholarship Coordinator

The School welcomes expression of interests from RSPE mid-career researchers to take on the role as the RSPE 201­7-2018 Summer Research Scholarship (SRS) Coordinator.

The deadline for expressions of interest is Monday 31 July 2017.

» read more


ACT AIP Women in Physics 2017 Lecture

Dr Katie Mack

Thursday 27 July

» read more


RSPE Projects Market Day

Tuesday 15 August

» read more


Departmental seminars

Professor Ross Stephens - 21 July
Cancer as Mutation Driven Deregulated Growth and Dedifferentiation
» read more

Dr Martin Keller - 26 July
The United States Energy Transition
» read more

Dr Daniel A. Horke - 2 August
Controlling the motion of very large molecules and particles
» read more

Professor Peter Gill - 11 August
Accurate solutions of the Schrödinger equation for electrons on spheres
» read more

Founder's Day Friday 13 October
» read more




Staff Movements

Susie Radovanovic is on leave from Monday 10 July for an extended time.  Reception will be covered by Nikki Azzopardi.

Josephine Ivanic is away on extended leave. Gail Bissell will cover the tearoom during this time.


RSPE Health & Safety upcoming courses

WHS courses book through Horus

Thursday 20 July - Laser Safety Refresher (WHHR27)

Friday 21 July - Ionizing Radiation Safety – Machines (WHHR24)

Friday 28 July - Ionizing Radiation Safety (WHHR22)

Wednesday 9 August - Hazardous Waste Safety Officer Training (WHHR19)

Thursday 10 August - Ionizing Radiation Safety - Machines Refresher (WHHR25)

Wednesday 30 August - Corrosives Safety (WHHR06)

» read more



The primary access for vehicles is the use of ANU Carshare.  Details on how to access this facility are on the CarShare website

» read more


School Truck

The keys and log book for the School Truck are now located in stores.


School Seminar Program - 20 July

Self-organization in Chaotic and living fluids - Dr Hua Xia

» read more



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.