Professor Chennupati Jagadish

Professor Chennupati Jagadish
Laureate Fellow and Distinguished Professor
Department of Electronic Materials Engineering
Office phone
John Carver 4 22


Jagadish received the B.Sc. degree from Nagarjuna University, Guntur, India in 1977, the M.Sc(Tech) degree from Andhra University, Waltair, India in 1980 and the M.Phil. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Delhi, India in 1982 and 1986, respectively. He was a Lecturer in Physics and Electronics at S.V. College, University of Delhi, during 1985-88 and worked at Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada, during 1988-90 as a post-doctoral research fellow. He moved to Australia in 1990 and established a major research program in the field of optoelectronics and nanotechnology. He is currently a Distinguished Professor and Head of Semiconductor Optoelectronics and Nanotechnology Group in the Department of Electronic Materials Engineering, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, the Australian National University. He is also serving as Director of Australian National Facbrication Facility, ACT node and Convenor of the Australian Nanotechnology Network.  He holds honorary positions at  University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu; University of Tokyo, Anna University and Nanjing University.   He is serving as Vice-President and Secretary Physical Sciences of the Australian Academy of Science.  His research interests include compound semiconductor optoelectronics and nanotechnology.

Jagadish is a winner of 2000 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc (USA) (IEEE) Third Millennium Medal and a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC), IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) and IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS). He has published more than 800 research papers (530 journal papers), 5 US patents assigned, co-authored a book, co-edited 6 books, guest edited 15 special issues of journals and edited 12 conference proceedings. Jagadish has served as President of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council  (2008 and 2009), Vice-President (Publications) of NTC (2004-2005), President-Elect of NTC (2007), Past-President (2010-2011) and Vice-President (Membership and Regional Activities- Asia-Pacific) of the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (2006 and 2007) and Vice-President (Finance and Administration) of IEEE Photonics Society (2012-14). He served as an elected member of EDS AdCom (1999-2004), and as Chair of Optoelectronic Devices Technical Committee of EDS (1998-2003) and Vice-President (Publications) of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council (2004-2005) and served as a member of the nanotechnology technical committee of EDS (2003-2005)and Chair of the NTC Nano-Optoelectronics, Nano-Optics and nano-photonics technical committee (2003-2006) and Chair of the NTC Awards Committee (2006-2008). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (USA), the American Physical Society, the Materials Research Society, the Optical Society of America, the Australian Institute of Physics, the Institute of Physics (UK), the Institute of Nanotechnology (UK), SPIE-the International Society for Optical Engineering, Electrochemical Society, the Institution of Engineering and Technology, American Association for Advancement of Science, American Vacuum Society, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the Australian Academy of Science, Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Academecian of the Asia Pacific Academy of Materials and Honorary Member of Materials Research Society of India. Jagadish served as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (2001-2005), as an Associate Editor of the IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology(2003-2008) and an Editor of IEEE Electron Device Letters (2008-2014). He is currently serving as an Editor of Progress in Quantum Electronics (2008-), an Editor of the Journal Semiconductor Technology and Science (2009-) and an Associate Editor of Applied Physics Reviews, an Associate Editor of Journal of Physics D: applied Physics, Applied Physics Reviews and Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology. He is a member of editorial boards of 17 journals. He chaired many conferences (Program Chair of IEEE NANO2003, San Francisco, Co-Chair ICONN 2006, Brisbane, Co-Chair, IEEE NMDC 2006, 2008, General Chair, IEEE Photonics Society Annual Meeting, 2010, Co-Chair of Materials Research Society Fall 2012 Meeting) and served on many international professional society committees. He advises high tech industries in Australia and overseas in the field of photonics and nanotechnology and collaborated with researchers from 20 different countries. He received Peter Baume Award (ANU's prestigious and highest award) for excellence in research and research leadership. He has also been awarded Australian Federation  Fellowship (2004-2009) and Australian Laureate Fellowship (2009-2014) by the Australian Research Council and Distinguished Professor position (since 2009) by the Australian National University. He received 2010 The Quantum Device Award from the International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors. He has been awarded IEEE Photonics Society 2010 Distinguished Service Award, 2011 IEEE Nanotechnology Council Distinguished Service Award, 2010 Top Supervisor Award for excellence in research student supervision by the Australian National University, 2012 Electronics and Photonics Division award of the Electrichemical Society and Walter Boas Medal from the Australian Institute of Physics in 2013.

Research interests

Our research interests are based on compound semiconductor optoelectronics, nanotechnology, photovoltaics and materials science. 

Compound Semiconductor Nanotechnology

  • Epitaxial Growth of Quantum Dots and Nanowires
  • Optical and Electronic Processes in Quantum Dots and Nanowires
  • Nano-Optoelectronics and Nano-Photonics

Compound Semiconductor Optoelectronics (III-V semiconductors)

  • Quantum Well, Quantum Dot and Nanowire Lasers
  • Quantum Well and Quantum Dot Infrared Photodetectors
  • Saturable Absorbers, Optical Modulators, Waveguides and Switches
  • Photonic Integrated Circuits, THz Photonics and Photonic Crystals
  • Plasmonics and Metamaterials

Compound Semiconductor Materials Science

  • Epitaxial growth of III-V semiconductors
  • Defects in semiconductors (ion implantation, plasma processing)
  • Zinc Oxide - Doping, Defects and Processing
  • Selective Area Epitaxy, Quantum Well / Dot Intermixing

High Efficiency Compound Semiconductor Photovoltaics

  • High Efficiency Multi-junction III-V semiconductor Solar Cells
  • Novel Quantum Dot III-V semiconductor Solar Cells
  • III-V Semiconductor Nanowires for Solar Cells

ScienceWise research articles

ScienceWise Magazine - Golden Seeds Grow Nanowire Lasers
ScienceWise Magazine - Taking the Strain out of Quantum Lasers
When dialing an ANU extension from outside the university:
  • (02) 612 XXXXX (within Australia)
  • +61 2 612 XXXXX (outside Australia)
Where XXXXX is the 5 digit extension number you are after.
Anti-Spam notice: The email addresses from this directory are made available to support the academic and business activities of ANU. These email addresses are not published as an invitation to receive unsolicited commercial messages or 'spam' and we do not consent to receipt of such materials. Any messages that are received which contravenes this policy is strictly prohibited, and is also a breach of the Spam Act 2003. The University reserves the right to recover all costs incurred in the event of breach of this policy.

Updated:  11 December 2013/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPE/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster