Our departments

The School consists of eight departments, based around broad research themes. However much of our work is interdisciplinary, spanning different departments within the School and the across the University.

Applied Mathematics

Applied Maths works on a range of problems spanning from chemistry to materials science to biology.

Centre for Plasmas and Fluids

The Centre researches basic plasma physics, space thrusters, fusion plasma theory, fluid turbulence and more.

Electronic Materials Engineering

Researching interdisciplinary areas such as condensed matter physics, materials science & device engineering.

Laser Physics

Research spans many of the most exciting aspects of contemporary laser physics and quantum electronics.

Nonlinear Physics

Applied and fundamental research on nonlinear phenomena and nonlinear localized waves and solitons in various branches of physics.

Nuclear Physics

The premier laboratory in Australia for accelerator-based research, facilitating world-leading research across a broad range of nuclear physics fields.

Quantum Science

Spans the spectrum of research, from fundamental investigations into quantum mechanics and gravity through to commercialization of advanced technology.

Theoretical Physics

Performs research at the highest international levels in selected areas of mathematical and theoretical physics.

Updated:  3 December 2021/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster