Dunbar physics honours scholarship

  • up to $25,000 package including accommodation assistance
  • mentoring and networking program
  • diverse research options
  • largest physics program in Australia
  • travel grants to discuss interests
  • open to Australian and New Zealand students

The Research School of Physics and Engineering (RSPE) at the Australian National University (ANU) undertakes high calibre research in a diverse range of areas. It is considered by peers to be amongst the top physics and engineering institutions in the world and is the largest physics school in the country. The culture of interdisciplinary research at RSPE is strong so you will not be boxed into one field of study. With an excellent supervisor to student ratio, you will also get the attention you need to excel.

Much more than financial support, the Dunbar physics honours scholarship takes you beyond the lab and gives you the full academic experience.

You will be mentored throughout your Honours year so you can learn about the scientific and academic worlds. You will participate in networking opportunities both here and overseas, making connections with key players n your field. If you decide that you want to stay on for further study, you will have the opportunity to continue towards a PhD.

Ten scholarships with up to $10,000 stipend and an additional living and ccommodation of up to $15,000 will be available. Scholarships will be awarded based on academic merit. On-campus accommodation for interstate and New Zealand recipients will be guaranteed, and accommodation support for local students will be considered.

Travel grants are available so you can visit RSPE at ANU to discuss our interests with us and find out how they fit into the diverse range of research options we offer. As part of his opportunity, you will get to visit the on-campus accommodation facilities and experience the unique ANU and Canberra culture.

The Dunbar physics honours scholarship has been established in memory of the late Professor Noel David Dunbar who was the Professor of Physics from 1958 to 1968 and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of ANU from 1968 to 1977.

More information: physics.anu.edu.au/education/dunbarscholarship




Ms Kavitha Robinson
T: (02)61251814

Updated:  17 August 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Head of Department/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster