2016 Nobel Prize in Physics Awarded!

Published in the Research School of Physics Event Horizon
Vol42 Issue41 24–28 October 2016

The Prize was divided, one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz "for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter".

For a bit of additional local impact, David Thouless, delivered part of the 6th Physics Summer School in RSPE at 1993 on many body physics.  I have a copies on the series in my office if anyone would like to look at them.  It’s important to reflect on how important these Summer Schools were and I would welcome discussion on how we might do this again.  The Baxter Fund ought to handsomely seed this program again!

Updated:  3 October 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster