Westpac Research Fellowship 2017

Published in the Research School of Physics Event Horizon
Vol42 Issue26 4–8 July 2016

The Westpac Bicentennial Foundation is partnering with Australia’s leading research universities (ANU, UMelb, UQ and USyd) to offer up to six Westpac Research Fellowships in 2016 each valued at up to $460,000 over 3 years commencing no later than 30 June 2017. These Fellowships offer early career researchers a unique opportunity to support their ground breaking research, provide access to networks, open career pathways and global experiences. 

Fellowship recipients will be exceptional people, chosen for their intellectual ability, leadership qualities, and commitment to the community. Successful Fellows will be undertaking research that has the ability to make a difference to Australia’s future in one of the Foundation’s priority areas:

·         Technology and innovation;

·         Strengthening Australia-Asia ties; or

·         Enabling positive social change.

The ANU recipient of the Fellowship in 2016 is Nanoscientist   Dr Antonio Tricoli from the ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science.

For further details on Fellowship funding and breakdown, please read the Westpac Fellowship Funding Guidelines

An ANU Westpac Research Fellowship Information Session will be held on Wednesday 6th July 2016 from 12:00 noon to 1:00 PM in the Manning Clarke Theatre (venue to be confirmed).   More details will come from the PVC (R&RT) office shortly.

ANU Submission Process

ANU Key Dates are available here (UID and HORUS password required for access)

Applicants should contact their College Research Office for advice and support with research fellowship application proposals and budgets in the first instance. 


Research Services

Maria Davern, Primary contact until 16th August 2016; (Nina Svedin, Secondary)

Nina Svedin, Primary from 16th August – 26th September 2016 (Peter Francis, EO to PVC (R&RT) Secondary contact).

College Contacts:  Your College Research Office will provide ‘at the elbow’ support to Early Career Researchers Applicants.


The Research Services Team

Updated:  4 October 2022/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSPhys/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster