The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 45 | 7–11 December 2015


Congratulations - RSPE Promotion results

My congratulations to our colleagues recently promoted:

Level C-D:

  • Dr Elena Ostrovskaya (Nonlinear Physics Centre)
  • Dr Ilya Shadrivov (Nonlinear Physics Centre)

 Level B-C

  • Dr Andrew Kingston (Applied Maths)
  • Dr Sudha Mokkapati (Electronic Materials Engineering)
  • Dr David Powell (Nonlinear Physics Centre)
  • Dr Bram Slagmolen (Department of Quantum Science)

Together with Prof Joe Hope's recent promotion this is a fantastic result for our school.



Plasma Research and Laboratory (PRL)
Summer Scholars: Nicola Yuen and Bradley Valette studying with Dr Cormac Corr.


DECRA 2016

The Research Office have been reviewing who might be eligible DECRA candidates from our School for the upcoming round.  This program has supported a large number of outstanding researchers in our School, and it is one of our best opportunities attract external applicants from around the world.  I encourage you all to contact collaborators who might direct top candidates to apply to this scheme. It is especially important that you consider encouraging excellent women to apply.  Tim


ARC Gender Equality Action Plan 2015–16 released

The ARC is committed to ensuring that all researchers have the same opportunity to participate in the funding schemes of the National Competitive Grants Program (NCGP) irrespective of gender. The ARC funds the best researchers to support the highest quality Australian research and innovation.

In addressing this commitment, the ARC has established a range of initiatives including:

  • targeted funding through the Australian Laureate Fellowships scheme
  • maternity/paternity leave and part time arrangements for fellowship and awards
  • a Research Opportunity and Performance Evidence selection criterion
  • extension of eligibility requirements for some fellowships/awards
  • engagement with stakeholders and the wider community about the issue of gender equality

From the RSPE Access and Equity Committee

» read more


Student funding opportunitites

We would like to draw your attention to this funding opportunity for student travel - ANU-IARU Travel Grants These grants are separate to the ANU Travel Grants (formerly known as the VC Travel Grants).  Please have a look at the details on the website. 

RSPE Student Office




Departmental seminars

Professor CNR Rao - 15 December
Australian Nanotechnology Network Distinguished Lecturer
» read more

Ms Sahar Mirzaei - 15 December
Final PhD seminar-Characterizing the structural properties of the NPs formed by ion implantation in different dielectric matrices
» read more

Professor Albert Wang - 16 December
IEEE EDS/Photonics Society Distinguished Lecture & EME Department Seminar
» read more


Department Vision Presentations

Thank you to all for their contributions towards the "3-6-9" presentations.  All are available on the RSPE intranet


Staff movements

Nuclear Physics
Professor Andrew Stuchbery
 will be absent from 1-10 December 2015.  Prof Nanda Dasgupta will be acting HOD during this period.

Plasma Research Laboratory
Professor John Howard
will undertake research and collaboration at the DIII-D National Facility in San Diego 27 November - 15 December 2015.  Dr Cormac Corr will be acting HOD during this period.

Ms Uyen Nguyen, DA of CPF, AMPL and PRL, will be on annual leave 7 - 11 December. Please contact relevant HoD during this period

Theoretical Physics
Professor Mukunda Das
will be overseas from 24 November - 22 December 2015. He will visit S N Bose National Centre and Saha Institute in Kolkata; Institute of Physics in Bhubaneswar and National Physical Laboratory In New Delhi where he will deliver a number of seminars and Colloquia.


Funding Opportunities

Grant opportunities
The current funding round of the Ian Potter Foundation is now open. Fudning opportunitie - conference organisation (max $20,000) or travel to attend a conference ($2,000-$3,000). Application opened 9 November 2015 and close 27 January 2016. Please check the Eligibility and Application Process and advise if you intend to apply.



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.