The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 32 | 7–11 September 2015


2015 Physics Education Centre Planning Day

Friday 18 September 2015
Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander Cultural Centre
Lady Denman Drive, Canberra

» read more


Biophysics: measuring and modelling biology

Interdisciplinary school “Biophysics: measuring and modelling biology” which takes place in Les Houches from October 18 to 23.

» read more


John Carver Seminar Series 2015 - first call for nominations

The Seminar Series will be held on Wednesday 23 September 2015 from 9.30am in the Finkel Theatre, JSCMR Building 131. Participating students are expected to present a 15 minute talk on their research. The talks are not followed by questions. Prizes and Certificates will be on offer for the best and most popular student presentations (judge’s vote and audience vote). The winners may be invited to present their talk at the equivalent competition run by the NSW branch of the Australian Institute of Physics or at a regular meeting of the ACT branch of the Australian Institute of Physics.


Closing date for nominations is 9 September 2015.

Students who wish to participate should forward their presentation title to by 16 September 2015 to enable us to finalise the program.


Student Funding opportunity

Ben Williams student support grant
Is now available for all undergraduate and post graduate physics students enrolled at the Research School of Physics and Engineering. The fund will provide financial assistance to students who are experiencing health and well-being difficulties that are preventing them from completing their program. Applications are accepted all year round.

Further information and to apply:
T: +612 6125 5195 / +612 6125 1315


Funding Opportunities

ARC Linkage Projects 

Applications for ARC Linkage Projects may open in mid-September and close in mid-November. If you are interested in applying (both ANU-led and externally-led bids) please notify

ANU – COST Travel Grant Scheme
ANU has exclusively partnered with the Australian Academy of Science to deliver support of up to $7,000 for ANU researchers to participate in EU COST Actions. Participation in COST can lead to engagement in major projects and initiatives such as Horizon 2020 and the European Research Council. Further information is available here (ANU login).


2016 ANU Alumni Awards now open

Nominations will be open until Midnight (AEST) 31 October 2015 in the following categories:

  • Alumnus of the Year (the highest honour)
  • Alumnus of the Year – Philanthropy
  • Alumnus of the Year – Innovation & Entrepreneurship
  • Alumnus of the Year – Research or Academia
  • International Alumnus of the Year
  • Young Alumnus of the Year
  • Student of the Year

Nomination forms, eligibility and criteria can be found at -

Recipients will be announced at the 2016 ANU Alumni Awards Gala on Saturday 19 March 2016 at Old Parliament House.

For RSPE nominations contact: Kavitha Robinson, E:




Departmental seminars

Dr Morgan Hedges - 7 September
Search for symmetry violation at the South Pole
» read more


September Directors Colloquium

Many thanks to Emeritus Prof Hans Bachor and Patrick Healan (Questacon) for presenting "From curiosity to mega industries - the laser as a tool with no limits" at this month Director's Colloquiuim.  It was a stunning and informative presentaion

» read more


RSPCA Cupcake Day

The RSPE Cupcake Day raised a grand total of $440 to help support our local RSPCA shelter. Thank you very much to all who helped make the event a success, especially those who took the time to contribute cakes. The money raised will be used to protect vulnerable animals by providing veterinary care, housing, food and more to allow animals to live long, happy lives.


EME Ion Beam Lab - new website

EME's ion-beam facility has a newly created website 'Australian Facility for Advanced Ion Implantation Research (AFAiIR)’ The website will facilitate ease of access and showcase capabilities to external users. 


Staff movements

Directors Office
Prof John Close
will be overseas 7-15September 2015. Prof Craig Savage will be Acting Deputy Director Education during this period.
Mr Rana Ganguly
will be on leave 28 August - 8 September 2015. Mr Graeme Cornish will be Acting School Manager during this period.

Applied Maths
A/Prof Adrian Sheppard
will be absent from 29 August - 9 September 2015. Professor David Williams will be Acting HoD during this period.

Centre for Plasma and Fluids
Prof Michael Shats, Dr. Nicolas Francois,
and Dr. Hua Xia will attend the 15th European Turbulence Conference in Delft (The Netherlands) 24-28 August. They will be traveling after the meeting to undertake collaborative research. Prof Christine Charles will be Acting HoD 22 August -7 September 2015
A/Prof Matthew Hole will be attending an International Tokamak Physics Activity meeting in Energetic Particles 7-9 September, Dr Brett Layden will be working at the Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, and Zhisong Qu will be working with Prof Breizman in the University of Texas, Austin for a month

Laser Physics
Ms Sonia Padrun will be on leave 26 August - 6 October 2015.  For assistance during this period please contact Ms Uyen Nguyen (DA PRL, CPF & AMPL) Ext 52480/52403 or Ms Julie Arnold (DA EME) Ext 50020

Work Health Safety
Mr Anthony Hyde will be on leave 14 August - 18 September 2015.  For urgent matters, please contact
Dr Horst Punzman (Chair, RSPE WHS Committee) 0410 693 011 or Mr Graeme Cornish Ext 53062



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.