The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 30 | 24–28 August 2015



Congratulations to Emeritus Prof Steve Buckman AM on being appointed to Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) board.  The annoucement was made by Industry and Science Minister Ian Macfarlane on Tuesday 18 August 2015.


2015 Physics Project Market Day

We would like to thank all those who contributed to a successful Physics Project Market Day 2015. We had approximately 60 posters displayed and around 120 students attend including 7 interstate students who won travel scholarships.
In particular we would like to thank the Martin Conway, Laura Walmsley and Andrew Papworth.See you all next year!
Cormac, Jodie, Patrick and James


Silicon breathrough - Exploding into life

After a year of experiments, ANU scientists created new materials that could revolutionise the technology industry.

» read more


Student Funding opportunity

Ben Williams student support grant
Is now available for all undergraduate and post graduate physics students enrolled at the Research School of Physics and Engineering. The fund will provide financial assistance to students who are experiencing health and well-being difficulties that are preventing them from completing their program. Applications are accepted all year round.

Further information and to apply:
T: +612 6125 5195 / +612 6125 1315


2015 Physics Education Centre Planning Day

Friday 18 September 2015
Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander Cultural Centre
Lady Denman Drive, Canberra

This year’s event offers an opportunity for staff to engage with the planning process, to provide their perspective and ideas and discuss some major directions we are pursuing.  i.e.

  • ANU and RSPE strategic directions in research led education
  • engagement with China and regional universities
  • photonics program
  • implementation of the high level physics curriculum and the new courses in mathematics

Please reserve the date in your calendars, and reply to Laura Walmsley no later than Friday 11 September including any special dietary requirements.

John Close, Deputy Director (Education)


Funding Opportunities

ARC Linkage Projects
Applications for ARC Linkage Projects may open in mid-September and close in mid-November. If you are interested in applying (both ANU-led and externally-led bids) please notify

ANU – COST Travel Grant Scheme
ANU has exclusively partnered with the Australian Academy of Science to deliver support of up to $7,000 for ANU researchers to participate in EU COST Actions. Participation in COST can lead to engagement in major projects and initiatives such as Horizon 2020 and the European Research Council. Further information is available here (ANU login).

Call for Brazil collaboration proposals
Grants of up to $5,000 are available to support ANU researchers to develop direct researcher-to-researcher collaborations with Brazil. Up to eight grants will be awarded, with the applications closing 28 August 2015. Further information is available here (ANU login).




Departmental seminars

Professor Vince Craig - 28 August
Research in the nanobubbles field, including recent work in the group
» read more


3MT College Heat

Congratulations to all our students (pictured with the two RSAA participants) who competed in the College heat of Thee Minute Thesis Competition on Tuesday 18 August 2015. It was great to see a strong presence of RSPE students at the event and who all gave an excellent performance.




Atomic and Molecular Physics Laboratories (AMPL)
Dr Dan Murtagh research Fellow in the Positron Lab. Dan will be doing experiments on fundamental positron interactions with atoms and molecules and we look forward to having him work with us for the next two years

Non Linear Physics Centre (NLPC)
Mr Martin Weismann visiting student from University College London, UK.  Martin visiting for a three week period.

Electronic Materials Engineering (EME)
Ms Rowena Yew PhD student from City University of New York, USA.  Rowena will be working with Prof Jagadish and working in the area of Water Splitting.


Staff movements

Centre for Plasma and Fluids
Prof Michael Shats, Dr. Nicolas Francois,
and Dr. Hua Xia will attend the 15th European Turbulence Conference in Delft (The Netherlands) 24-28 August. They will be traveling after the meeting to undertake collaborative research. Prof Christine Charles will be Acting HoD 22 August -7 September 2015

Electronic Materials Engineering
Prof Hoe Tan will be on leave 31 August - 3 Septmber 2015.  Assoc Prof Jodie Bradby will be Acting HoD for this period.

Ms Julie Arnold will be on leave 24 August - 4 September 2015.

Laser Physics
Ms Sonia Padrun will be on leave 26 August - 6 October 2015.  For assistance during this period please contact Ms Uyen Nguyen (DA PRL, CPF & AMPL) Ext 52480/52403 or Ms Julie Arnold (DA EME) Ext 50020

Work Health Safety
Mr Anthony Hyde will be on leave 14 August - 18 September 2015.  For urgent matters, please contact
Dr Horst Punzman (Chair, RSPE WHS Committee) 0410 693 011 or Mr Graeme Cornish Ext 53062

Facilities & Services
Ms Lyndell Paseka will be on leave 27 July - 28 August 2015.  Mr Ben Parker will be assisting during this period.



The following OH&S training course:

  • Corrosives (OHSA07) 31 August
  • Compressed gas and Cryogenics safety (OHSA04) 3 September

 Registration via HORUS



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.