The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 27 | 3–7 August 2015



Physics Education Centre (PEC)
Congratulations to Rebecca Davies on receiving the inaugural ANU Achievement Prize for Third Year Physics. The presentation was made by the sponsor, Emeritus Professor John Love at the College's Prizes, Awards & Scholarships Presentation evening, Friday 24 July 2015, at University House.  Rebecca was also awarded the Priscilla Fairfield Bok Prize.

Department of Quantus Sciece (DQS)
Laura Walmsley (DA) was presented with the award for entering the "most authors on a paper" on any one paper at the 2014 HERDC Submission presentation held 31 July 2015. 'Multimessenger search for sources of gravitational waves and high-energy neutrinos: Initial results for LIGO-Virgo and IceCube'



Non Linear Physics Centre (NLPC)
Mr Zheng Fang commencing his Honours with NLPC


Departmental seminars

Professor Jean-Marc Di Meglio - 31 July
Locomotion and decision making in microorganisms
» read more

Professor Jörg Schmiedmayer - 4 August
‘Solving’ a Quantum Many Body Problem by Experiment
» read more

Dr Rob Sewell - 7 August
Generation of a macroscopic spin singlet in a cold atomic ensemble
» read more


3 Minute thesis competition

The 3MT international research student competition is on again for 2015 and the Australian National University is currently preparing for the school and college heats and ANU final.

 The School’s 3MT heat (including a light lunch) will be held on 4 August 2015 ***Innovations Theatre, Ground Floor Anthony Low Building #124*** (NOTE VENUE CHANGE). The School heat will be followed by the College Heat over 18 and 20 August ready for the ANU 3MT final on Wednesday 16 September 2015. In regard to prizes on offer, for ANU college 3MT winners will receive $1,000 research support grant and up to $4,000 on offer for ANU final 3MT winners.

Further information:

Students please come and support your fellow students.




Staff movements

Electronic Material Engineering (EME)
Prof Hoe Tan will be absent 3-7 August 2015.  Assoc Prof Lan Fu will be Acting HoD during this period.

Facilities & Services
Mr Graeme Cornish is on leave from 3-7 August. Mr Patrick Lang will be acting during this time.
Ms Lyndell Paseka will be on leave 27 July - 28 August 2015.  Mr Ben Parker will be assisting during this period.



The following OH&S training course:

  • Chemical safety (OHSA03) 4 August
  • Corrosives (OHSA07) 31 August
  • Compressed gas and Cryogenics safety (OHSA04) 3 September

 Registration via HORUS



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.