The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 22 | 29 June–3 July 2015


Prof Stephen J Buckman

The 8th Director of the School

Professor Stephen J Buckman, who joined the University in 1983, retires on 3 July 2015 as Director and Professor of Physics at ANU's Research School of Physics and Engineering (RSPE). Steve served as Head of the Atomic and Molecular Physics Laboratories during 1996-2001 and again during 2010-12. Within the field of Atomic and Molecular Physics his research interests include low energy electron scattering, negative ion spectroscopy, laser cooling and trapping, low energy positron physics, applications of atomic physics in technology, the environment and the development of scientific instrumentation. He continues to be very research-active and is a leading and influential figure in Physics in Australia - a position he holds in our community as a result of 40 years of outstanding contributions to the field through his published work, research leadership, research training and mentorship.

» read more


Director RSPE Farewell

You are invited to join a celebration of Steve's service and retirement commencing at 3pm on Friday 3rd July 2015, RSPE Link Tea Room, Oliphant Building #60 Mills Road, ANU. RSVP



Congratulations to Prof Ping Koy Lam (DQS) on being awarded an Australian Laureate Fellowship (ARC) for Precision laser levitation for quantum metrology and gravitational sensing.

On behalf of all of RSPE we congratulate Ping Koy on his award and this recognition for his contribution towards Australian research.



Nonlinear Physics Centre (NLPC) welcomes Dr Mohsen Rahmani


Departmental seminars

Professor Q-Han Park - 8 July
Nonlinear Physics Center and OSA Student Chapter seminar Perfect anti-reflection - how to make things completely black
» read more


RSPE Building Master Plan - June update

Having completed the tender process Hassell Studio has been engaged to undertake the Site Master Plan and subsequent Stage 1 of the RSPE building upgrade. They will be joining us in the very near future and over the coming months will be speaking to all areas of the School, running workshops and information sessions so we can move forward and produce both new and refurbished workspaces and laboratories that will meet our needs for many years to come.

A Building Planning and Working Group has been set up in the School. The group was selected for their specific skills and lab requirements so we have a broad range of perspectives and can provide input to our architects and consulting engineers. 

» read more


Funding opportunities

ARC Future Fellowships 2015 – Now Open
The Funding Rules for Future Fellowships are now available and the scheme has opened. Please refer Funding Rules and FAQs. Please note that the strategic statement will be required to outline plans to retain the successful Future Fellow in a continuing position. This is explained further in the Changes to FT15 Funding Rules and at B3.3.1 in the Funding Rules.

SIEF John Stocker Postdoctoral Fellowships
A grant of $92,000 p.a. for three years targeting projects in natural or applied science with high potential for scientific achievement and benefits to Australia. Applications close 31 July. For internal review and submission please submit completed applications to the research office by 10 July.




Staff movements

Directors Office
Prof Steve Buckman will be absent 29-30 June 2015. Prof Rob Elliman will be Acting Director RSPE during this period.  Please ensure all international travel approvals are assigned to Prof Elliman for consideration.

Mr Rana Ganguly is on long service leave 17 June - 6 July 2015. Mr Graeme Cornish will be looking after School Manager duties during this period. Please ensure all domestic travel approvals are assigned to Mr Cornish for consideration.

Nuclear Physics (NP)
Prof Andrew Stuchbery
will be absent 28June - 27 July 2015.  Dr Tibor Kibedi will be Acting HoD 28 June - 2 July, and Prof Nanda Dasgupta will be Acting HoD 3-27 July 2015.

Electronic Materials Engineering (EME)
Prof Hoe Tan
will be absent 20 June - 5 July and 9-10 July 2015.  A/Prof Jodie Bradby will be Acting HoD during these periods.

Physics Education Centre (PEC)
Prof John Close
will be absent 29June - 3 July 2015.  Prof Craig Savage will be Acting HoD during this period.

Plasma Research Laboratory (PRL)
A/Prof Matthew Hole
will be absent 20 June - 13 July 2015.  Matthew is presenting work at the 42nd EPS Conference on Plasma Physics (Lisbon), working at the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (Greifswald), attending an IAEA International Fusion Research Council Meeting (Vienna), and lecturing at the 38th Harry Messel International Science School (Sydney).

Student Administration (HDR)
Ms Luda Mangos will be on leave 1 June – 2 July 2015. Enquiries to Ms Karen Nulty x55195 or

Applied Maths (AM)
Ms Martina Landsmann (DA) will be on leave 1 June to 3 July 2015



A 'chemical waste and dangerous goods disposal form' is available for download on the RSPE Intranet in the Work Health Safety section.

This form enables the correct classification of items on the manifest before pickup by contractor ToxFree or SteriHealth.




The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.