The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 43 no 53 | 22–26 January 2018


Director's Message

Dear Colleagues,

Hope you had a relaxing, if hot, weekend.

It’s a huge pleasure to congratulate Professor David McClelland on winning this year’s Australia Institute of Physics Walter Boas Medal.  He joins a very distinguished list of Australian Physicists, including ANU’s Professor Jim Williams (1993), Professor Hans Bachor (2000), Professor George Dracoulis (2004), Professor Yuri Kivshar (2005) and Professor Chennupati Jagadish (2013).  We will have a School morning tea to celebrate David’s award in February.

In the spirit of cross-School collaboration the Directors of RSAA, RSES, RSC and RSPE are providing opportunity to have all Discovery Projects read by colleagues not in your field. Volunteers will read only the first 2 pages for about half a dozen applications across RSES, RSC and RSAA to help make suggestions on readability.  It’s a great chance to meet some of our ANU colleagues in other Schools and I encourage early- and mid-career researchers to join me.  It’ll be fun. If you’re interested please contact our Deputy Director of Research, Professor Ken Baldwin, this week.

The pic this week shows the delight of one of physics undergraduates (Katrina Taloni from Aubergine's) meeting Professors Duncan Haldane and Brian Schmidt after Duncan’s public lecture on Topological Matter last week.  Congratulations to organisers of this year’s Canberra International Physics Summer School. With 90 students attending it was one of our most popular.

Have a great week,



Proposals are now open in RGMS for NHMRC Career Development Fellowships for funding commencing in 2019.

» read more


Gender Equality from a European Perspective: Myth and Reality

» read more


The STEM PhD Program is a joint venture of the Group of Eight (Go8) universities and Westpac, established last year, which offers PhD students with a focus on Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics fields part-time employment with the Westpac Group during their studies

» read more


The CSIRO Alumni Scholarship in Physics aims to connect the brightest young physicists or mathematicians to a leading research centre overseas or in Australia.

» read more




Departmental seminars

29 Jan - Dr Mark Stoyer
Nuclear Alchemy: The Sorcery of Making New Elements and the Quest for the Island of Stability
» read more

12 Feb - Mr Steven Pederson
The Further Development of the SURT Research Program for Cosmology
» read more

15 Feb - Dr Peter J Riggs
Why Does the Cosmos Exist?
» read more


Summer staffing

Admin Team
Sonia Padrum will be away 16-24 and 30 Jan, retuning to regular hours from 31 Jan.

For all admin inquiries during these periods please email


Important Notices


Don't forget to return office keys....

» read more


RSPE School Manager's email address - update

» read more


Joint Colleges of Science - name change message

» read more


Work, Health and Safety Courses available in February

» read more


Keep Informed

ANU Events



Friday, 9 February 2018

Invitation: Mike Gore Physics Education Precinct Launch - register by 2 Feb.

» read more



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.