The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 43 no 38 | 9–13 October 2017


Director's Message

Dear Colleagues,

It is my pleasure to announce that A/Prof Matthew Sellars will be our first Deputy Director (Infrastructure). I’d like to thank the other applicants who all demonstrated their passion for the technical excellence and facilities in our School. My gratitude goes to A/Prof Penny King from RSES and Mr Graeme Cornish for their contribution to the selection process. Matt will lead initiatives that will support our technical capability and knowhow that makes the ANU a distinctly different research university.

Congratulations go to the three proposals, shortlisted to progress to Stage 4 of the ANU Grand Challenges scheme.  It is notable that RSPE is represented in all three GC’s!  An excellent outcome for all.

  • Your Health in your Hands: Future Personalised Medical Technologies for a Sustainable and Effective Healthcare
    Antonio Tricoli, Robyn Lucas, Matthew Cook, Hanna Suomi, Dragomir Neshev
  • Living Fluids: Understanding collective behaviour for bio-inspired engineering
    Hua Xia, Steve Lee, Gaetan Burgio, Lexing Xie, Michael Shats 
  • Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific
    Ken Baldwin, Paul Burke, Kylie Catchpole, Alex Hewitt, Yun Liu

For those who missed the notice, the Voluntary Early Retirement Scheme has commenced and eligible staff have been provided with the closing date of Wednesday 11 October 2017 to register for the Scheme.  Please see Director HR’s email for details.

Above is a photo of our late dear friend, Professor Neville Fletcher, entertaining us with his witty poetry.  This was taken at the EME farewell for him in early April.  If you would like to pay your respects there is a condolence book at the Front Desk, and the funeral will be held from 10:30 am on Tuesday, 10th October, at Norwood Park, 65 Sandford Street, Mitchell.

I hope you have a restful weekend.



Dear Colleagues,

Please join me in congratulating our newest Early Mid-Career Research representative for RSPE, AJ Mitchell. 

AJ will join the other EMCR Representatives;

  • Lan Fu,
  • Jenny Wong-Leung and
  • Matthew Hole,

in providing a vital mechanism for our EMCR’s to raise concerns, feedback and successes to the broader School and Management.

I would also like to thank Mohsen Rahmani for his nomination. Mohsen would have also made an excellent EMCR Representative and his nomination is greatly appreciated.

In last weeks Event Horizon, Tim asked for feedback on the arrangements for representatives at RSPE. Please send through any ideas you have to by the end of October.

Congratulations again to AJ and thank you to Mohsen for nominating, it is greatly appreciated.  

Kind regards,



Founder's Day - 13 October 2017

Technical & Arts Displays 
Cockcroft Building

Director’s & Departmental Presentations
Leonard Huxley Lecture Theatre
#56 Mills Road, ANU

Founder’s Day Luncheon, with music performed by our very own jazz trio, Harmonic Propulsion
RSPE Tea Room & Gardens
Oliphant Building

 2017 Program


Let There be Light

The High Commission of Canada and the Environmental Film Festival are joining forces for a Special Event Screening of Canadian film Let There Be Light at the National Library of Australia on Wednesday, October 18, from 5.30pm. After the screening there will be a panel discussion titled “Bright ideas: nuclear fusion and the future of energy”, with guests Canadian filmmaker Mila Aung-Thwin and Matthew Hole, Senior Fellow of the ANU and a fusion scientist.

» read more



Opportunities Closing Soon

Clunies Ross Awards. Nominations for 2017 Entrepreneur of the Year, Knowledge Commercialisation Award and Innovation Award are now open, closing 27 October.

The Dan David Prize provides prizes (USD $1 million each) in the selected fields of History of Science, Bioethics and Personalised. Nominations close 30 November.

The Kavli Prize (USD $1 million each) is awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, for outstanding scientific achievements in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience. Nominations close 1 December.

The LUI Che Woo Prize (AUD $3.2 million) aims to address ever-evolving global needs and challenges. The areas of focus for 2018 are: Development of Renewable Energy, Reduction of the Impacts of Natural Disasters and Elimination of Illiteracy. Nominations close 31 January 2018.


Support/Scholarship Funds for Indigenous Students

Guidelines have been developed to administer the Science Support/Scholarship Funds for Indigenous Students. Details can be found on the College Intranet site below under the “Other policies & schemes” section.

» read more


Internships with Defence for PhD students

The internship program is administered by AMSI – which also has other opportunites for industry placements.

» read more




Prof Neville Fletcher 

(14/07/1930 to 1/10/2017)
Neville’s funeral will be held from 10:30 am on
 Tuesday, 10th October, Norwood Park, 65 Sandford Street, Mitchell, ACT.

» read more


Departmental seminars

Mr Xin Chen - 12 October
Managing light in engineered nonlinear optical structures
» read more

Mr Vidur Raj - 31 October
p-n Junctionless III-V Heterojunction Solar Cells
» read more

Dr Rama K. Vasudevan - 6 November
Practical use of machine learning and data science practices in the big-data age of microscopy
» read more


24th Canberra International Physics Summer School

Registration closes 16 October 2017 - The Canberra International Physics Summer School invites Australian and international students to learn about cutting edge research in physical sciences. 

» read more


Staff Movements

Applied Maths
Martina Landsmann will be away from 22 September - 23 October 2017. All enquiries shold be directed to


The Carers’ Career Development Assistance Fund (CCDAF) - Applications close 17 October.

» read more


PhD Workshops - The Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science (CPAS) will be holding two short workshops for PhD students of the Colleges of Science in late October.

» read more



Senior First Aid Training - register through HORUS

» read more


Emergency Warden Training - register through HORUS

» read more


LASERS - Class 3B, and 4 licence conditions


» read more


Hazard Alert- Pacemaker

» read more



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.