The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 18 | 1–5 June 2015


School Seminar Program - 18 June

Engineering the surface and waveguide properties of nanowires - Dr Sudha Mokkapati

» read more



Congratulations to Prof Christine Charles, Head SP3, who has been elected as a Fellow to the Academy of Science.  Christine‘s research on ion acceleration in expanding magnetised plasmas has led to a new generation of space engines and created two new sub-fields of physics.

On behalf of the Director and RSPE we congratulate Christine on this prestigious fellowship.



Electronic Materials Engineering (EME) welcomes Valentin Ramez (PHEMLA Grenoble INP, France) Occupational Trainee visiting Prof Chennupati Jagadish for 3 months.


Departmental seminars

Dr Amy S. Gandy - 2 June
Radiation Damage and Gas Bubble Formation in Perovskites
» read more

Dr Dirk K├Ânig - 4 June
Active Impurity Doping of Silicon Nanovolumes: Failure and Alternatives
» read more



The following OH&S training courses will be running soon

  • Confined spaces refresher (OHSA06) 10 June
  • Cranes and lifting tackle (OHSA08) 18 June





Prof Buckman is overseas on business 27 May – 5 June 2015.  Please ensure that during this period Prof John Close is nominated as approving delegate for travel (international) applications.


RSPE Directorship (update)

Prof Andrew Roberts, Dean CPMS, has advised they are still in the process of negotiating an offer with an external candidate.  Prof Steve Buckman has kindly agreed to continue serving as Director until 3 July 2015.  Prof Tim Senden has agreed to serve as Director for the period from 4 July 2015 to 31 January 2016, which is the likely start date should the external candidate accept the Directorship.

The schools continuing patience with the process is appreciated.


Staff movements

Directors Office
Prof Steve Buckman is travelling to KL for the period 27 May – 11 June 2015.  During his absence Prof John Close will be acting Director RSPE

Student Administration (HDR)
Ms Luda Mangos will be on leave 1 June – 2 July 2015. Enquiries to Ms Karen Nulty x55195 or

Electronic Materials Engineering (EME)
Ms Julie Arnold (DA) will be on leave 20 May - 12 June 2015

Applied Maths (AM)
Ms Martina Landsmann (DA) will be on leave 1 June to 3 July 2015


Funding opportunities

Robert and Helen Crompton Award 2015
Nominations are being sought for the Robert and Helen Crompton Award 2015. This Award provides funding of up to $15,000 to assist postgraduate research students enrolled at the Research School of Physics and Engineering to undertake part of their research program overseas or make a collaborative visit to an overseas institution, for three to six months. Applications open 1 June and close 5pm 30 June 2015.
Further information is available at

Ben Williams Student Support Grant
The Ben Williams Student Support Grant is now available for all undergraduate and post­graduate physics students enrolled at the Research School of Physics and Engineering. The fund will provide financial assistance to students who are experiencing health and well-being difficulties that are preventing them from completing their program.

Applications are accepted all year round.

Ian Potter Foundation Grants, Round 2
Applications are now open for Science, Travel and Conference grants, closing 23 June. Applications need to be ranked internally and sent to the Foundation in hard copy before the due date. If you’re interested in applying, please send your Expression of Interest to by Friday 15 May for further information. Final drafts will be due to the research office by Monday 9 June 2015.

ARENA R&D Programme
Supporting industry and research partnerships that seek to develop and commercialise renewable energy technologies, and to provide a broader range of energy options to reduce future energy costs. Expressions of Interest close 19 June 2015.

SIEF John Stocker Postdoctoral Fellowships
A grant of $92,000 p.a. for three years targeting projects in natural or applied science with high potential for scientific achievement and benefits to Australia. Applications close 31 July.

Out of the Comfort Zone: Seeking Alternative Sources of Funding’ – 4 June, 2-4pm
The Australasian Research Management Society (ARMS) is holding this Q & A session, open to both researchers and research administration staff from all disciplines.  Attendees will have the opportunity to hear from representatives from organisations that offer alternative sources of funding, as well as researchers who have succeeded in diversifying their funding support base.
More information and RSVP at:


ACT Scientist of the Year Award

Open to Australian citizens or permanent residents up to 10 years post PhD, the Award recognizes the achievements of an ‘up and coming’ scientist with significant potential to continue to achieve. Nominations close 9 June 2015.


NECTAR Early Career Retreat

10-11 June
Open to all ANU early career academics and final year PhD students, the retreat includes workshops and speakers on issues that matter to early career academics. Free, with catering.

Register by 2 June 2015 on Eventbrite



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.