The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 43 no 1 | 23–27 January 2017


Director's Message - 2017

Dear Colleagues,

Welcome back and I hope you had a pleasant and relaxing break.  I’ve returned refreshed and excited about the prospects for 2017. Last year saw some overstanding research successes and I’m certain this year will be as rich. 

Shortly we will move into the largest renovation and building program the School has seen for over 60 years. Our approach to this program has seen a huge contribution from all parts of the School community over the past year and a half, and brings the considerable challenge of designing a teaching and research environment that will function for the next 30 years and beyond.

» read more


Congratulations - Distinguished Professor Chennupati Jagadish

On his election as an Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences.  This has a special significance for Jagadish as he was born and educated in India.  

The only other Australian who is an Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences is our own very distinguished Vice-Chancellor, Nobel Laureate, Prof. Brian Schmidt. 

» read more



Ms Masturina Kracica (EME)

Mr Tom Ratcliff (EME)

» read more


Funding Opportunities

ARC Important Dates and Messages

2017 Major Equipment Grants Scheme (MEC)

Academic and student funding opportunities.

» read more




Staff movements

Director's Office (DO)
Prof Tim Senden 
will be on leave 23-27 January 2017. Prof Ken Baldwin will be acting Director during this period.

Mrs Tania Maxwell (EA), will be on leave 25-30 January 2017. Urgent matters should be directed to during this period. All other matters will be responded to following this period.

Laser Physics (LP)
Ms Sonia Padrun will be on leave 23 December 2016 - 30 January 2017. Urgent enquries can be forwarded to HOD LPC or DA EME during this period.

Nonlinear Physics Centre (NLPC)
Ms Kathy Hick will be on leave 21 December 2016 - 30 January 2017. Urgent enquries can be forwarded to DA AM during this period.


Farewell - Chris Kalos

The School and College celebrated Chris' contribution to RSPE & ANU at a morning tea held on Friday 13 January. Chris has had a long association with RSPE and he will be missed by the school and his finance colleagues.  We wish him well in his future endeavours (and hope the fish are jumping!).


I am an ANU Ally

If you have completed the training and registered to be an ANU Ally, display stickers are now available for collection from Tania Maxwell, EA to Director RSPE.

Further information, including future courses, avaiable here.



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.