The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 42 no 41 | 24–28 October 2016


Director's Colloquium - 1 November

The Future of Computing - Professor Michelle Simmons

» read more


2016 Nobel Prize in Physics Awarded!

The Prize was divided, one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz "for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter".

» read more


RSPE Building Project Update

*  Project User Group (PUG) Minutes
    (Session  1)
*  Final master plan document

These are large documents and are now saveable and printable, please only print if absolutely necessary.

» read more



Developing your Philosophy of Teaching and Learning

Commercialisation Bootcamp

Lean Startup Workshops

Higher Degree Research Student Supervisors


Funding Opportunities

ARC Important Dates and Messages

Academic and student funding opportunities.

» read more


Equity and Access

Stay safe on campus with ANU OK app

» read more




Science gender equity seminar

25 October 11am-12pm

Jointly hosted by the CMBE Gender Equity Committee and the CPMS Access and Equity Committee

» read more


Departmental seminars

Professor Dmitri Golberg - 25 October
State-of-the-art methods of in situ HRTEM for nanomaterial property analysis
» read more

Dr Brendan Choat - 27 October
Non-invasive imaging of plant hydraulic function
» read more


Staff movements

Centre for Plasmas and Fluids (CPF)
Matthew Hole is traveling to Kyoto,Japan, from October 14 -27 to participate in the International Fusion Research Council Meeting, present at the IAEA Fusion Energy Conference, and attend the Integrated Tokamak Physics Activity topical meetings in Energetic Particle Physics, and MHD.

Department of Quantum Science (DQS)
Prof Craig Savage will be away 3-28 October 2016. Prof Ping Koy Lam will be acting HOD during this period.

School Services (SS)
Mr Graeme Cornish 
is on leave 1-28 October 2016.  Mr Craig Young will be acting Facilities and Service Manaager during this period.

Mr David Anderson is on leave 5 Ocotber - 5 November 2016.  Mr Steve Marshall will be acting EU Manager during this period.

Theoretical Physics (TP)
Prof Mukunda Das will visitNanyang Technological University and National University of Singapore 25-27 October. He will give a seminar in the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences in NTU.


2016-17 NSW/ACT Young Achiever Awards!

Nominations are now open for the 2016-17 NSW/ACT Young Achiever Awards!

» read more



Training courses:

» read more



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.