The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 15 | 11–15 May 2015


May Director's Colloquium

Professor Joe Wolfe of UNSW delivered a pitch perfect presentation for the Directors Colloquium on the topic of “the Physics of the Voice: Speech and Singing”, to an appreciative crowd. Drawing on elegant physics, musical instruments, singing, demonstrations, humour and recordings of great operatic voices, Joe elegantly illustrated how the voice can be understood through the physics of acoustics and comparison to other musical instruments. He even took a beating from his former PhD supervisor to demonstrate how pressure variations influence the voice.


School Seminar Program - 21 May

The potential of uranium-236 as an environmental tracer - Dr Michaela Fröhlich

» read more





Department of Nuclear Physics welcomes Dr Tamas Tornyi new Postdoctoral Fellow with the GAMMA group.  Also please welcome Mr Stephen Battisson to the Tech team.  Steve is here on a six month transfer from AMPL.


Staff movements

Director RSPE
The Director, Prof Steve Buckman, will be involved with ERA REC on 11-12 May 2015.  Professor Ken Baldwin will be Acting Director during this period.

Nuclear Physics
Prof Andrew Stuchbery, HoD of Nuclear Physics, will be absent for the period 30th April to 11th May 2015.  Prof Mahananda Dasgupta will be Acting HoD during this period.



The following OH&S training courses will be running soon

  • Ionizing radiation safety (OHSA18) 13 May
  • Flammable liquids (OHSA13) 27 May


Departmental seminars

Brendan Wilson - 13 May
Multiband Superconductivity: Multiband BCS and Ginzburg-Landau theories, and the connection between them
» read more

Tim Sawkins and Mohammad Saadatfar - 15 May
Wild Excursions - Himalaya, Serengeti, Kilimanjaro
» read more

Dr Brian Robson - 20 May
Dark Energy, Dark Matter and Gravity
» read more

Dr Dirk K├Ânig - 4 June
Active Impurity Doping of Silicon Nanovolumes: Failure and Alternatives
» read more


Funding opportunities

Ian Potter Foundation Grants, Round 2
Applications are now open for Science, Travel and Conference grants, closing 23 June. Applications need to be ranked internally and sent to the Foundation in hard copy before the due date. If you’re interested in applying, please send your Expression of Interest to by Friday 15 May for further information. Final drafts will be due to the research office by Monday 9 June 2015.

International Climate Initiative
Supports projects in developing countries and emerging economies, and countries in transition. Areas of support relate to mitigating greenhouse gases, adapting climate change, conserving carbon sinks and conserving biological diversity. First stage closes 1 June 2015.

ARENA R&D Programme
Supporting industry and research partnerships that seek to develop and commercialise renewable energy technologies, and to provide a broader range of energy options to reduce future energy costs. Expressions of Interest close 19 June 2015.

SIEF John Stocker Postdoctoral Fellowships
A grant of $92,000 p.a. for three years targeting projects in natural or applied science with high potential for scientific achievement and benefits to Australia. Applications close 31 July.

Group of Eight DAAD Australia-Germany Joint Co-operation scheme
This scheme aims to foster research collaboration of the highest quality between Australian researchers from participating Australian universities and German researchers from German universities, research institutes and Fachhochschulen.  The support of early career researchers is a significant focus.

Applications will be ranked prior to submission, with this in mind the Research Office internal deadline is 2nd June 2015.  Applications received on this date will receive a strategic review.

Please contact for the application pack.



ICRAR Visiting Fellowship for Senior Women in Astronomy
ICRAR is committed to supporting women in astronomical sciences and technology. This fellowship is aimed at providing an opportunity for senior women astronomers (having more than 5 years research work experience post PhD) to visit ICRAR for 3 months and interact with ICRAR researchers and graduate students. Applications close 31 May 2015


ACT Scientist of the Year Award

Open to Australian citizens or permanent residents up to 10 years post PhD, the Award recognizes the achievements of an ‘up and coming’ scientist with significant potential to continue to achieve. Nominations close 9 June 2015.



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.