The Australian National University

Event Horizon

Research School of Physics


Weekly newsletter | vol 41 no 14 | 4–8 May 2015


Director's Colloquium - 7 May

The Physics of the Voice - Professor Joe Wolfe

» read more



Department of Quantum Science welcomes Dr Terry McRae who commenced as a Research Fellow on 28 April, working with David McClelland in the Centre for Gravitational Physics.

Electronic Materials Engineering welcomes Mr Geert Adriaans (University of Technology Eindhoven) who will be visiting for 3 months.  Geert will be working on a project with Dr Sudha Mokkapati.



Electronic Materials Engineering farewells Ms Sarwat Baig who has been visiting for 3 months.  Sarwat is returning to Cambridge University UK and resuming her PhD studies.


Research management

New Costing and Pricing information on College intranet

The College intranet now has background information and links on the new ANU Costing and Pricing tool and policy, which are now in effect for new grants and consultancies. See Note the next drop-in help session is on 6 May 2015.





Congratulations to A/Prof Joe Hope (PEC & QS) on receiving a Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence.

Congratulations to A/Prof Jodie Bradby who has been named Australian Institute of Physics, Woman in Physics Lecturer for 2015. This will see Jodie travelling around Australia giving public and professional lectures and working with schools to promote the visibility of women in Physics across the country.  


Staff movements

Director RSPE
The Director, Prof Steve Buckman, will be Chairing a Review of the Life Sciences Division at ANSTO on 5-7 May 2015.  Professor Ken Baldwin will be Acting Director during this period.

Nuclear Physics
Prof Andrew Stuchbery, HoD of Nuclear Physics, will be absent for the period 30th April to 11th May 2015.  Prof Mahananda Dasgupta will be Acting HoD during this period.



The following OH&S training courses will be running soon

  • Ionizing radiation safety (OHSA18) 13 May
  • Flammable liquids (OHSA13) 27 May


Departmental seminars

Denitza Denkova - 5 May
Near-field imaging of the magnetic field of light
» read more

Mr Daniel Leykam - 7 May
PhD final seminar - Wave and spectral singularities in photonic lattices
» read more

Dr Brian Robson - 20 May
Dark Energy, Dark Matter and Gravity
» read more

Dr Dirk K├Ânig - 4 June
Active Impurity Doping of Silicon Nanovolumes: Failure and Alternatives
» read more


Funding opportunities

Group of Eight DAAD Australia-Germany Joint Co-operation scheme

This scheme aims to foster research collaboration of the highest quality between Australian researchers from participating Australian universities and German researchers from German universities, research institutes and Fachhochschulen.  The support of early career researchers is a significant focus.

Applications will be ranked prior to submission, with this in mind the Research Office internal deadline is 2nd June 2015.  Applications received on this date will receive a strategic review.

Please contact for the application pack.



ICRAR Visiting Fellowship for Senior Women in Astronomy

ICRAR is committed to supporting women in astronomical sciences and technology. This fellowship is aimed at providing an opportunity for senior women astronomers (having more than 5 years research work experience post PhD) to visit ICRAR for 3 months and interact with ICRAR researchers and graduate students. Applications close 31 May 2015



The Australian National University, Canberra | CRICOS Provider : 00120C | ABN : 52 234 063 906

If you do not wish to receive future emails from us, please unsubscribe.