Australian positron beamline facility

Positron beamline and staff

The Australian Positron Beamline Facility consists of two positronbeams, one for materials studies and one for atomic and molecular physics experiments. The beamlines are built around the technology of buffer gas trapping, and produce a pulsed, magnetically confined beam of positrons for use in experiments.

The beams operate in two modes, either high resolution or short pulse mode. With the high resolution beam, studies are made of positron scattering with a precision and accuracy that has not been traditionally possible in positron physics. This will lead to a new insight into positron-matter interactions at a fundamental level.

In the short pulse mode, the positrons are compressed to sub-ns pulses and injected into a target material of choice, at energies up to 20kV. The timing characteristics of the resultant annihilation are then analysed and provide information about the structure of the material in question. In particular, this technique is sensitive to small voids in the target sample, of a size that is critical for myriad properties such as permeability in polymers or the early stages of fatigue in metals.

Positron beamlines

The beamlines are a result of a collaboration between a number of Australian institutions, ANU, CSIRO, Flinders University, Adelaide University and Charles Darwin University. They play a central role in the Centre for Antimatter Matter-Studies (CAMS) and link together research groups collaborating on a wide variety of problems.

More information about this facility and the different research programs that make use of the positron beams can be found at the CAMS website.


Sullivan, James profile
Head of Department
Buckman, Stephen profile
Emeritus professor

Updated:  15 June 2016/ Responsible Officer:  Head of Department/ Page Contact:  Physics Webmaster