School Administration and Services

2005 saw several changes in the School's Administration and Services staff. Ms Gillian Harman took over as Human Resources Officer from Ms Julia Peric, who retired from the School in June 2005. Ms Lyndell Paseka was appointed as School Services Administrator to provide assistance to the School Facilities and Services Manager, Mr Kevin Lonsdale. New staff include Ms Tina Lu who joined the School as Finance Officer in May, Ms Ana Vukoja, Student Development Officer, in August and Ms Sherryl Kluver, Accounts/Travel Officer in October. Ms Mariana Ng, Assistant Manager, Finance, returned to the School after nearly a year's leave in October. Mr Van Tran of the Electronics Workshop retired in December. Ms Martina Landsmann returned from her long-term secondment to the Corporate Information Services in July with indepth knowledge of the new research management database ARIES. Ms Liz Micallef, who was seconded from the Faculty of Arts to the Business Office transferred to the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics while Ms Mariana Milin secured a transfer to another part of the University.

The extension and refurbishment project of the Le Couteur Building commenced in 2005 and resulted in the relocation of the majority of physics-related periodicals and books from the Physics Library to other on-campus libraries. The School is grateful to Ms Annette Styles who provided invaluable service during her appointment as School Librarian and has since then moved to another on-campus library.

Three ARC funded research networks commenced in 2005. Ms Helen McMartin was appointed the Network Manager of the Australian Nanotechnology Network. Ms Belinda Barbour was appointed the Network Manager for the Australian Research Network for Advanced Materials, while an appointment for the Complex Open Systems Research Network had not been finalised in 2005.

The Business Office strived to extend high levels of service on a sustained basis to grant holders.

School Administration and Services Staff

School Resources Manager

Rana Ganguly, B. Engg (Mech), MBA, FAIM

School Facilities and Services Manager

Kevin Lonsdale, Assoc. Dip. Mech. Eng DDIAE, B. Tech USQ, PGCertCnflctMgt Macq

Human Resources Manager

Gayle Samuel

Finance Manager

Andrew James, BSc ANU

Personal Assistant to the Director

Laura Walmsley

Public Relations Officer

Tim Wetherell, BSc PhD St Andrews

Development Manager

Anna Cirjak

Project Officer

Martina Landsmann

Human Resources Officers

Julia Peric (until June)
Gillian Harman (from June)
Francis Smyth (part-time)

Human Resources and Students Officer

Gillian Harman (until June)

Student Development Officer

Ana Vukoja (from August)

Receptionist

Susie Radovanovic

SPF Manager

Wendy Butler

Assistant Finance Manager

Marianna Ng (on leave until October)

Finance Officer

Tina Lu (from May)

Purchasing & Stores Manager

Mark Harris

Accounts Payable Clerk

Hanna Spanring

Accounts/Travel Officer

Sherryl Kluver (from October)

College of Science

Chris Denny

School Services Administrator

Lyndell Paseka, BAppSci (from May)

Senior Stores Clerk

Ken Staples

Stock Ordering Clerk

Lyndell Paseka, BAppSci (until May)

Stores Assistant

Richard Adamow

Purchasing & Stores Assistant

Goran Radovanovic (part-time; full-time from April)

Electronics Unit

Tony Cullen (Head)

Engineers

Michael Blacksell

David Kelly

Technical Staff

David Anderson

Dennis Gibson

Joseph Nixon

Wasantha Ramasundara

Huan Van Tran

Trainee Technical Officers

David Ellem

Steven Huynh

Mechanical Workshop

Ron Cruikshank

Technical Staff

Anthony Barling

Gareth Crook

Ben Danaher

Peter East

Stephen Holgate

Owen Kershaw

Richard Koltermann

Tom McGuinness

Miro Peric

Andrew Sullivan

Apprentices

Ben Cory (from July)

Elliott Scott

School Computer Unit

Shiu Tin, BSc Hong Kong, PhD

Julie Dalco, BA

Janes Irwin, BIT UC

Deane Larkman, BSc, Grad Dip Comp UC, MIT UC

School Services

Steve Brooks

Anthony Mackey

David Squires

School Librarian

Annette Styles (until November)

Australian Research Council Australian Materials Technology Network

William Wachsmann

Linda Lewis

Australian Research Council Nanotechnology Network

Chennupati Jagadish

Helen McMartin (part-time)

Cindy Bradley (part-time)

Australian Research Council Australian Research Network for Advanced Materials

Jim Williams

Belinda Barbour (part-time)

Elena Nobleza (from October)

Australian Research Council Complex Open Systems Research Network

Robert Dewar Brian Kenny