

Rana Ganguly

School Administration and Services

Administration

Ms Anna Cirjak joined the School in June 2004 as Development Manager in charge of student recruitment and marketing activities and Andrew James took over from Maree Kearns as Finance Manager. Several administrative staff improved their skills through training or secondments: Ms Helen McMartin and Dr Tim Wetherell were nominated for the ANU Career Advance Program 2004–05; Mr Rana Ganguly was nominated for the Senior Managers' Leadership Program 2004 and undertook a project titled: "Best Practice Management of Success in External Funds" along with two other colleagues; Ms Belinda Barbour was seconded to the Australian Primary Health Care Institute (APHCRI) for a short-term assignment; and in November Ms Martina Landsmann started her nine-months secondment to the Corporate Information Services to work with the Research Management System team on the implementation of a new research management database.

The assistance provided by the School workshops to the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics (RSAA) after the Mount Stromlo fires was acknowledged by Professor Penny Sackett, Director of the RSAA, who presented an award to the workshops in appreciation of these services.

The School continued to win a large number of external funds including three of the four ARC funded research networks that will commence in 2005. Ms Helen McMartin was appointed the Network Manager of the ARC funded Australian Nanotechnology Network. The Business Office continued to extend high levels of service on a sustained basis to grant holders.

School Services Staff

School Resources Manager Rana Ganguly BEngg(Mech), MBA, FAIM

School Facilities and Services Manager
Kevin Lonsdale, AssocDipMechEng DDIAE, B Tech USQ, PGCertCnflctMgt Macq

Human Resources Manager Gayle Samuel

Finance Manager
Maree Kearns, BCom UNSW, DipEd UNE (until January)
Andrew James, BSc ANU (from January)

Personal Assistant to the Director Laura Walmsley

Science Communication
Tim Wetherell, BSc PhD St Andrews

Development Manager Anna Cirjak (from July)

Project Officers

Martina Landsmann

Nilanjana Das (from October)

Human Resources Officer

Julia Peric

Human Resources and Students Officer

Gillian Harman

Francis Smyth (part-time)

Receptionist
Susie Radovanovic

Assistant Finance Manager

Marianna Ng

Purchasing & Stores Manager

Mark Harris

Accounts Payable Clerk

Hanna Spanring

Accounts/Travel Officer Linda Datson (until August)

SPF Manager Wendy Butler

SPF Officer

Ben Materne (until March)

National Institute of Physical Sciences

Chris Denny

Senior Stores Clerk

Ken Staples

Stock Ordering Clerk

Lyndell Paseka

Stores Assistant

Richard Adamow

Purchasing & Stores Assistant

Goran Radovanovic (part-time)

Electronics Unit

Tony Cullen (Head)

Engineers

Michael Blacksell

David Kelly

Technical Staff

David Anderson

Dennis Gibson

Huan Van Tran

Wasantha Ramasundara

Trainee Technical Officers

David Ellem

Steven Huynh

Mechanical Workshop

Ron Cruikshank

Technical Staff

Anthony Barling

Gareth Crook

Ben Danaher

Peter East

Stephen Holgate

Owen Kershaw

Richard Koltermann (from September)

Tom McGuinness

Miro Peric

Andrew Sullivan

Apprentice

Elliott Scott

School Computer Unit

Shiu Tin, BSc Hong Kong, PhD

Julie Dalco, BA

Janes Irwin, BIT UC

Deane Larkman, BSc, Grad Dip Comp UC, MIT UC

School Services

Steve Brooks

Anthony Mackey

George McEwan (until March)

David Squires

Australian Materials & Technology Network

William Wachsmann (from January)

Sylvana Ransley (until September)

Linda Lewis (from December)

School Librarian

Annette Styles